Senate Nominating Committee Report

April 17, 2008

Carol Ritzen Kem

Nominating Committee Chair

Senate Nominating Committee Members 2007 - 2008

Jackie Ayers, Mental Health Services

Florin Curta, History, LS

Mary Ann Eaverly, Classics, LS

Nicole Horenstein, Chemistry, LS

Michael Katovich, Pharmacodynamics, PH

Carol Ritzen Kem, Collection Management, LIB

PK Nair, School of Forest and Resource Conservation, AG

Sankar Swaminathan, Medicine MD

Elaine Turner, Dean's Office, AG

Responsibilities:

Serve as a nominating committee for the elected members of all Senate Committees and Joint Committees. The committee shall be available to the President for recommendations for Presidential Committees.

<u>Criteria for Consideration of Nominees:</u>

- Diverse faculty representation by faculty drawn from the entire University at all appropriate ranks.
- Selection of highly qualified faculty members where specific expertise is required.
- Through committee service, development of a fully engaged faculty dedicated to service as a crucial third component of the teaching, research and service mission.

Senate Committees (8)

Academic Freedom, Professional Relations & Standards (Tenured Full Professors): 15 members elected

Committee on Committees: 6 members elected

Compensation Committee: 6 members elected

Honorary Degrees, Distinguished Alumnus Awards and Memorials Committee (Full Professors or Equivalent): 8 members elected

Senate Nominating Committee: 6 members elected, 3 appointed

Senate Steering Committee: 11 members, varies

University Constitution Committee: 6 members elected

University Libraries Committee: 9 members elected

Joint Committees (10)

Academic Personnel Board (Tenured Full Professors)

Curriculum Committee

General Education Committee

Lakes, Vegetation and Landscaping

Land Use and Facilities Planning

Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites

Research Policy Committee

Student Petitions Committee

Sustainability

Transportation and Parking

Election Timeline

Elections will open on Friday, April 18

Elections will close on Monday, April 28

Senate Policy Council Nominations: Budget

Klausner, James, Professor, Engineering
Kumar, Pradeep, Professor, CLAS
Quillen, David, Associate Professor, Medicine
Wilson, George, Professor, Medicine
Young, Naomi, Assistant University
Librarian, University Libraries

Senate Policy Council Nominations: Academic Policy

Leavey, John, Professor, CLAS
Reep, Roger, Professor, Veterinary Medicine
Rambo, Tracy, Lecturer, Law
Rosenberg, Leah, Assistant Professor, CLAS
Rovine, Victoria, Assistant Professor, Fine
Arts

Senate Policy Council Nominations: Research and Scholarship

Logan, Henrietta, Professor, Dentistry
Kem, William, Professor, Medicine
Alberro, Alex, Associate Professor, Fine
Arts

Senate Policy Council Nominations: Infrastructure

Hart, Ed, Librarian, LW
Orazem, Mark, Professor, EG
Smith, David, Professor, LS

Senate Policy Council Nominations: Faculty Welfare

Shechtman, Orit, Associate Professor, PHHP

Kneipp, Shawn, Assistant Professor, Nursing

McAuslane, Heather, Professor, Agricultural and Life Sciences

Senate Committee Nominations: Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations and Standards Committee

Capinera, John, Professor, AG
Crisalle, Oscar, Professor, EG
Ostroff, David, Professor, JM
Segal, Richard, Professor, PH
Sinnott, Susan, Professor, EG
Tennant, Michelle, University Librarian,
UF

Woodard, Richard, Professor, LS

Senate Committee Nominations: Committee on Committees

Datnoff, Lawrence, Professor, AG
Pauly, Rebecca, Associate Professor, MD
dePerio Whittman, Jessica, Librarian, LW

Senate Committee Nominations: Compensation Committee

Bushhousen, Ellie, Assistant University Librarian, HSC

Creveling, Betsy, Instructor PKY, ED

Maruniak, James, Associate Professor, AG

Mueller, Paul, Professor, LS

Wachsman, Eric, Professor, EG

Senate Committee Nominations: Constitution Committee

Macedo, Joseli, Assistant Professor, DCP
Seale, James, Professor, AG
Siebecker, Michael, Assistant Professor,
LW

Senate Committee Nominations: Honorary Degrees

Leavitt, David, Professor, LS
Purich, Dan, Professor, MD
Sinnott, Susan, Professor, EG
Tanzer, Kim, Professor, DCP

Senate Committee Nominations: University Libraries Committee

Metler, Russ, Clinical Associate Professor, NR

Steiner, Ruth, Associate Professor, DCP

Leavitt, David, Professor, LS

Smith, Brenda, Associate Professor, FA

Senate Committee Nominations: Nominating Committee

Sanchez, Raul, Associate Professor, English

Maruniak, James, Associate Professor, AG

Pauly, Rebecca, Associate Professor, Medicine

Loving, Matthew, Area Studies Librarian, Smaters Libraries,

Senate Committee Nominations: Senate Steering Committee

Bolton, Elizabeth, Professor, AG Leavey, John, Professor, LS Mecholsky, John, Professor, EG

Joint Committee Nominations: Academic Personnel Board

Bowers, Dawn, Professor, HP
Datnof, Lawrence, Professor, AG
Goodenow, Maureen, Professor, MD
Nair, PK, Distinguished, Professor, AG
Rienzo, Barbara, Professor, HH

Joint Committee Nominations: Curriculum Committee

Collins, Shelley Wells, Assistant Professor, MD

Dukes, Walter, Professor, DCP

Hailey, Charlie, Assistant Professor, DCP

Hershfield, Selman, Professor, LS

Kellerman, Edmund, Senior Lecturer, LS

Koro-Ljungberg, Mirka, Associate Professor, ED

Landor, Blake, Associate University Librarian, UF

Rowe, Meredeth, Associate Professor, NR

Rush, Mark, Professor, BA

Schaefer, Edward, FA

Sigmund, Wolfgang, Professor, EG

Joint Committee Nominations: General Education Committee

Dukes, Walter, Professor, DCP
Greer, Creed, Senior Lecturer, LS
Hershfield, Selman, Professor, LS
Smith, Brenda, Associate Professor, FA
Thomson, Robert, Associate Professor, LS
Wilson, Joseph, EG

Joint Committee Nominations Lakes, Vegetation, and Landscaping Committee

Banko, John, Lecturer, BA

Cuda, James, Associate Professor, AG

Joint Committee Nominations: Land Use and Facilities Planning Committee

Capinera, John, Professor, AG
Thomson, Robert, Assistant Professor, LS
Toor, Gurpal, Assistant Professor, AG
Macedo, Joseli, Assistant Professor, DCP
Wilson, Joseph, Assistant Professor, EG

Joint Committee Nominations: Parking and Transportation Committee

Cook, Michael, Assistant Professor, DCP Hinze, Jimmie, Professor, AR Sheu, Jiunn-Jye, Assistant Professor, HH

Joint Committee Nominations: Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee

Armstrong, Claude, Visiting Professor, DCP

Curta, Florin, Associate Profesor, LS

Leavitt, David, Profressor, LS

Radunovich, Heidi, Assistant Scientist, HP

Joint Committee Nominations: Research Policy Committee

Catalanotto, Frank, Professor, DN Cauraugh, James, Professor, HH Yamamoto, Janet, Professor, VM

Joint Committee Nominations: Student Petitions Committee

Hershfield, Selman, Professor, LS
Rasol, Hesham, University Librarian, UF
Vidaurreta, Beverly, Assistant Professor,
MD

Joint Committee Nominations: Sustainability Committee

Dempere, Luisa, Assistant Engineer, EG

De Perio Wittman, Jessica, Assistant University Librarian, LW

Foss, Michelle, Assistant University Librarian, Smathers Library

Hertel, Lauren, Lecturer, JM

Ries, Robert, Assistant Professor, AR

Thomas, Martha, Extension Agent, AG

Toor, Gurpal, Assistant Professor, AG

The Senate Nominating Committee thanks

Ms. Nancy L. Bibbo, Senior Secretary
Office of the Provost
for her organizational skills, preparation of detailed
lists of committees and nominees and willingness to
assist us in our work