Task Force on Shared Governance Charge

Formulate and recommend constitutional changes designed to facilitate shared academic governance. At a minimum, the Task Force should:

- 1. Specify the electorate, i.e., those who participate in the shared governance system by electing representatives to a Faculty Senate
- 2. Specify those eligible to serve in the Faculty Senate and on its committees (if this group is different from the electorate)
- 3. Specify appropriate common electoral practices for all colleges
- 4. Specify other changes that may be necessary to encourage effective participation by all the electorate in shared governance
- 5. Specify those areas of responsibility reserved to the President in which the President will seek the resolution or sense of the Faculty Senate (or its designated representatives) before acting
- 6. Specify mechanisms for the Faculty Senate review and approval of proposed changes in university rules *and policies* pertaining to the academic mission
- 7. Specify changes that may be required to encourage effective communication by all electorate in shared governance

Formulate and recommend a set of bylaws specifying the smooth implementation of the principles of shared academic governance and the efficient operation of the Faculty Senate. At a minimum, the Task Force should:

- 1. Identify the Faculty Senate standing committees that should be established or continued in support of the Academic Mission
- 2. Identify means of ensuring early involvement of the Faculty Senate (or its designated representatives) in the formulation of policy.
- 3. Identify clear and effective channels of communication between the President and the Faculty Senate, and between the Faculty Senate and the Electorate
- 4. Identify structural processes for timely consideration and effective resolution of issues brought to the Faculty Senate
- 5. Identify ways to integrate the work of all university bodies that contribute to governance and affect the academic mission of the university with the work of the Faculty Senate and its committees.