## Task Force on Shared Governance Fall, 2005 Prepared by Vivian I. Correa

#### **College of Dentistry**

#### Introduction:

The College of Dentistry educates the state's future dentists and dental specialists through its 16 degree and certificate programs. Each year the college admits a new class of about 80 D.M.D. students consisting of individuals who are among the top predental students in the nation. It has around 140 faculty members in the 16 academic departments and around 448 students. The college has had a constitution for over 30 years. Last year, an Ad Hoc Committee worked on revising the constitution for the college. The new constitution was ratified in January 2005 and is posted on the college's website.

The faculty of the University of Florida College of Dentistry meets in assemblies to: (a) establish rules and regulations of self-governance including the identification of the various standing committees and the election of their members;

(b) make recommendations to the Dean regarding academic policies on student affairs,

predoctoral education, advanced education, continuing education, and research;

(c) disseminate and gather information of general and scientific nature.

## Notable practices:

- 1. Faculty Assembly is made-up of <u>all</u> faculty, with officers elected to a Steering Committee. The term of office is two years. The Secretary is elected by the steering committee and holds a two-year term.
- 2. Faculty Assembly meets bimonthly (6 times a year). It has been difficult to meet quorum. They changed bylaws to reflect a quorum as the faculty present at the meeting.
- 3. Executive Advisory Board meetings are biweekly.
- 4. There are 11 standing committees in the college, elected by the faculty. The Dean may modify the appointments (e.g., add ex officio members or student members). Each committee must submit an annual report.
- 5. The College holds one college-wide faculty "retreat" in December. It is usually based on a theme (e.g., *Let's Evolve: Opportunities for Change*).
- 6. The Dean encourages open communication through: (a) college-wide open fora on specific topics of interest (e.g., T&P guidelines); (b) brown bag lunches; (c) monthly Friday breakfast meetings; and (d) web-based intranet postings.
- 7. Faculty are in the process of evaluating the Dean based on newly adopted procedures (see attached). They are using a web-based software (IDEA®).
- 8. Departments will also be evaluated every 5 years by a committee comprised of faculty from other colleges of dentistry and internal members as selected by Dean (see attached).
- 9. The constitution provides for an appeals process should the faculty assembly disapprove of the Dean's action.
- 10. The Dean reports the area needing further development is the transparency of the budget and resource allocations in the college.

## Vignettes:

Several issues have been raised that illustrate the college's ongoing need for open communication and shared governance, including faculty concerns about:

• evaluation of the college administrators

- course management software
- merit pay distributions
- curriculum and clinical practice
- computer update policies

Overall, the Dean reports that her college is doing well in shared governance. The Chair of the Faculty Assembly affirms that the Dean is doing an excellent job in involving faculty in all aspects of the college.

#### **Governance Documents**

Most of the documents on faculty governance are secured by password via the college's intranet system.

Web page on administrative information: <u>http://www.dental.ufl.edu/Faculty/Administrative.html</u> Web page on committees: <u>http://www.dental.ufl.edu/Faculty/Faculty\_assembly.html</u> Constitution and bylaws: <u>http://www.dental.ufl.edu/Faculty/Constitution.html</u>

# **Committee Structure**

**Executive Advisory Board:** Dean, Assistant and Associate Deans, Chairs, and Chair of the Faculty Assembly

#### **Faculty Assembly Steering Committee Members (7 members)**

- Paul Blaser (Chair)
- James Pettigrew
- Marc Gale
- Charles Dolce (Secretary)

## **College Faculty Committees (11)**

- Committee on Student Admissions and Recruitment
- Committee on Clinical Affairs
- Curriculum Committee
- Promotion and Tenure Committee
- Research Committee
- Student Affairs Committee

- Student Performance Evaluation Committee
- Advanced Education Committee
- Strategic Planning Committee
- Information Technology Committee
- Steering Committee

Note: Information for this report was gathered from interviews with Dean Dolan and Dr. Blasér, and reviews of selected documents.

- Amer Abu-Hanna
- Ann Progulske-Fox
- Teresa Dolan (ex officio)