## Ad Hoc Committee on Faculty Compensation

January 12, 2005 3:00-4:30pm 354 Tigert Hall

**Minutes** 

Members:

Frank Bova,

Guests: Pierre Ramond, Faculty Senate Chair

David Denslow, Chair

Mary Ann Eaverly, Malay Ghosh,

Malay Gnosi

Jean Larson,

Paul Mueller

The meeting was called to order at 3:05pm.

Dr. Ramond presented the members of the Committee with relevant information:

- A copy of the Committee's charge
- A list of the members and contact information
- Brochure on the Faculty Campaign

He commended the April 15, 2004 report of the Faculty Ad Hoc Committee on Faculty Compensation.

There was discussion of the unexpected shift of this Committee to a standing Committee. Dr. Ramond asked what the Committee needed to ensure its success. There were two requests:

- (1) Access to data on Faculty Salaries at UF,
- (2) Possibly additional comparison data, (and for future Committees, a graduate assistant)

David Denslow was elected Chair of the Committee.

A review of the April 15, 2004 Report was conducted, which was distributed to all present. David Denslow focused attention on two items:

- (1) Where do we stand vis-à-vis other Universities,
- (2) What happened to Raises?

Frank Bova will contact Victor Yellen about UF data.

David Denslow will obtain data from other Universities.

Several members will work on documenting existing policy and practice. Frank will obtain copies of the faculty practice plans for Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy. Mary Ann Eaverly will obtain merit pay guidelines for Engineering, Fine Arts, and Journalism. Jean Larson will search for document and memos related to the Upper Administration.

The next meeting will be scheduled for the following Wednesday, January 19<sup>th</sup>.

The meeting was Adjourned at 4:30pm