Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes April 15, 2010 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The minutes of the March 18, 2010 Senate meeting were approved.

Reports

Chair's Report

Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair

Jack Mecholsky reported that a Senate meeting will be held on May 6 from 3-6 PM in the Pugh Hall auditorium.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

Bernie Machen updated the Senate on the legislative session.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

Joe Glover updated the Senate on the most recent FEO awards. He answered questions on the documentary film institutive students and travel to Haiti.

Chair Elect Election

Scott Nygren was elected chair elect.

Action Items

Council chair term limits

Mark Bishop, COC chair

The proposal was approved.

PhD in Public Health, College of PHHP

Ken Gerhardt, Associate Dean of the Graduate School

The proposal was approved.

Tenure and promotion criteria for merged departments

Mary Ann Ferguson, Welfare Council member

The proposal was approved.

Directed Discussion

Open Source Publications

Amy Gorelick, University Press

Amy Gorelick presented information on open source publications including the benefits and drawbacks of open access textbooks. Some benefits are that publications are free, hard copies are less expensive for students, students are able to buy a book, print out individual pages or view the text online, the use of open source texts can fit into any teaching style and can be put into a CMS system and used with a professor's own supplemental materials. Additionally, open source texts are available forever. Some drawbacks to open source textbooks are that there are still costs associated with creating an open source book such as having the book peer reviewed, copy edited and typeset. There are fewer "bells and whistles" associated with open source books such as supplemental materials, graphics, photos, test guides and instruction manuals. Gorelick also discussed incentives and intellectual property.

Information Items

Open Access and the library's institutional repository

Judy Russell, University Libraries Dean

Dean Russell presented information on open access and the library's institutional repository.

Chief Stump presented the annual UFPD Use of Force report.

Intercollegiate Athletic Committee Report

Jill Varnes, NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative

Jill Varnes presented the annual Intercollegiate Athletic Committee report.

Proposal to create a department of linguistics in CLAS

Department changes in PHHP and COM

Joe Glover, Provost

Credit Hour Increase for an Electrical Engineering Degree

Mark Law, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs College of Engineering

These proposals will be action items at the May Senate meeting.

Academic Assessment Committee Language

Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair

This proposal will be action items at the May Senate meeting.

Effort Reporting

Scott Nygren, SCORS Chair

Scott Nygren presented information on effort reporting. He noted that there are both state and federal requirements that must be met for effort reporting and explained the differences in the assignment report, effort report and instructional workload report.

The meeting adjourned at 4:48 PM

Attendees: Peter Adams Monika Ardelt Lorena Baccaglini Marylou Behnke David Bloomquist Ashley Booth Joy Borgman Gijs Bosman Jane Brockmann Cheri Brodeur Amy Buhler Regina Bussing William Castleman Louis Cattafesta Nico Cellilnese George Christou Nereyda Clark Donald Cohen Robert Cook

Betsy Creveling

Barbara Curbow

Mary Ann Ferguson

Oscar Crisalle

Larry Duncan

Jane Gannon

Wayne Griffin

Davidd Groisser David Hahn Frederick Hamann Brian Harfe Jeffrey Harman Alice Harmon Edward Hart Marc Heft Richard Hill Pat Hogue Shannon Holliday David Janicke Rebecca Iordi William Kem James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Stephen Lewis Chihray Liu Greg MacDonald Todd Manini Tim Martin Sue McGorray Mike Meldrum Deb Mitra Martha Monroe Giuseppe Morelli Cynthia Morton

Vasudha Narayanan Michael Nussbaum Scott Nygren Mark Orazem Marc Ottenga Nancy Poehlmann Deborah Popovich William Properzio Emily Pugh David Quillen Patrick Reakes David Reed Victoria Rovine Sandra Russo Mary Beth Salisbury Wolfgang Sigmund Susan Sinnott Daniel Siragusa Clay Smith Stephen Smith Keith Stanfill Bruce Stevens Ghatu Subhash Michael Sweat Joseph Tepas

Carol Murphy Satya Narayan Sevan Terzian Kevin Thompson Barry Tillman Mark Tillman Jill Varnes Tom Wichman Sally Williams George Wilson Jennifer Zedalis Dana Zimmel

Guests:

Carol Kem Dianna Corington Amy Gorelick Caroline Wiltshire Mary Peoples Sheps Stephanie Hanson Amanda Adimoolah K Karey

Liaisons:

Mark Bishop Henry Frierson Paula Fussell Joe Glover Michael Good Ellis Greiner Michael Perri Judith Russell David Sammons Jim Seale