Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes January 21, 2010 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The November and December 2009 minutes were approved.

Reports

Chair's Report

Jack Mecholsky, Faculty Senate Chair

Jack Mecholsky reported that the entire university is now eligible for the FEO program. Information is available on
the Provost's Web site. Mecholsky also reported that the retirement incentive has been extended.

Action Item

Honorary Degree candidate

Pradeep Kumar, Honorary Degrees Committee Member

Howard Lance was unanimously approved for an honorary degree.

Bylaw changes for the Curriculum Committee and the General Education Committee compositions

Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair

The bylaw changes were approved.

Academic Assessment Committee Proposal

Mark Bishop, Committee on Committees Chair

The proposal to create an academic assessment committee was approved.

Directed Discussion

Academic Integrity

Angela S. Lindner, Associate Dean for Engineering Student Affairs

Angela Lindner gave a presentation on academic integrity.

Faculty discussed academic integrity and stated that going to the honor court takes time away from teaching and research, catching and prosecuting students is a disincentive to receiving positive scores on evaluations, the incentive is to teach students to do well on the exam and not necessarily understand the subject. The purpose of the task force on academic integrity that is being created is to identify problems and address concerns. Academic integrity starts with faculty who must uphold teaching standards too. It is extremely important to have faculty on committees who understand the circumstances of texts and exams. Have to establish a culture of academic integrity.

Information Items

RCM Presentation

Matt Fajack, CFO and Frank Bova, RCM Committee Member

Matt Fajack and Frank Bova presented information on RCM. Dr. Glover provided an introduction to the topic.

IT Security on Campus

Mike Conlon, Director of Data Infrastructure

Mike Conlon presented information in IT security on campus.

College of Education Shared Governance Resolution

Danaya Wright, APC Co-Chair

Harry Daniels from the College of Education presented this resolution on behalf of the APC. It will be an action item at the February Senate meeting.

University Curriculum Committee Items

Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, UCC Co-Chair

Discontinuation of the BSBA majors in Real Estate and Insurance, *College of Business Administration* Termination of B.S. in Agronomy and Crop Science, Dairy Science, Plant Pathology and Poultry Science *College of Agricultural and Life Science*

Mirka Koro –Ljungberg presented these degree programs for termination. They will be an action item at the February Senate meeting.

Senate officer terms start date change in the constitution

Iim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair

Jim Seale presented an information item on a proposed senate officer term start date change from May 15 to June 1. This item will be an action item at the February meeting.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

A faculty member expressed interest in creating a faculty club on campus.

Another faculty member stated that there is a lack of classrooms for classes with enrollment of over 100. Her class of 183 students has been assigned to a classroom for 40 students and it has happened to a number of classes in her department. There are currently 37 sections with enrollments of over 100 that have no classrooms.

The meeting adjourned at 5:01 PM

Attendees: Robert Cook Stephen Lewis
Betsy Creveling Chihray Liu

Peter Adams Oscar Crisalle Greg MacDonald
Kevin Anderson Harry Daniels Tim Martin

Monika Ardelt Lily Elefteriadou Heather McAsulane Manuel Arreola Mary Ann Ferguson Jack Mecholsky Steve Asare Iason Ferrell Carol Murhpy Tom Auxter Ian Flood Satya Narayan Michael Nussbaum Marylou Behnke Malay Ghosh Azra Bihorac Wayne Griffin Scott Nygren David Bloomquist Davidd Groisser Anthony Offerle Ashley Booth David Hahn Mark Orazem Brent Boraddus Frederick Hamann Marc Ottenga Joy Borgman Brian Harfe Anand Paul

Gijs Bosman Jeffrey Harman Nancy Poehlmann
Jane Brockmann Edward Hart Deborah Popovich
Cheri Brodeur Marc Heft Emily Puch

Cheri Brodeur Marc Heft Emily Pugh Amy Buhler Richard Hill David Quillen Eileen Buss Shannon Holliday Patrick Reakes Regina Bussing David Holmes David Reed Louis Cattafesta John Kammeyer Victoria Rovine Mike Katovich Nico Cellinese Sandra Russo

Rico Cellinese Mike Katovich Sandra Russo
George Christou Stan Kaye Mary Beth Salisbury
Nereyda Clark James Keesling Orit Shechtman
Donald Cohen James Klausner Susan Sinnott
Mary Collins Tony Ladd Daniel Siragusa

Joel Yelich Clay Smith Tom Dana

Keith Stanfill Andy McCollough

Ghatu Subhash Student Senators:

Mickie Swisher Chaz Pinna Liaisons:

Joseph Tepas Mark Bishop Sevan Terzian Guests: Ellis Greiner Kevin Thompson Pradeep Kumar Judith Russell

Jill Varnes Stephanie Hansen Jim Seale

Tom Wichman Elaine Turner Barbara Wingo