Article V COUNCILS AND COMMITTEES

Section 5. JOINT COMMITTEES. Faculty involvement is important for the disposition of certain key University issues with academic and administrative implications. In the spirit of shared governance, these issues are dealt with by Joint Committees. These committees are established and dissolved jointly by the President and the Senate and include members appointed by the President and members elected by the Senate to represent the faculty. Typically one half of each Committee's membership is comprised of elected faculty members and one half of appointed faculty members, except as specified otherwise in the Senate Bylaws. Joint Committees report to the President and, to the extent allowed, provide information on committee activities and meeting minutes to the Senate. At any time the President or Senate may evaluate the effectiveness of Joint Committees in conjunction with the Committee on Committees. Through the mechanism established in Article VIII, such committees may be mutually restructured.

The Joint Committees are:

- (1) Academic Assessment Committee
- (2) Academic Personnel Board
- (3) Curriculum Committee
- (4) General Education Committee
- (5) Graduate Council
- (6) Lakes, Vegetation and Landscape Committee
- (7) Land Use and Facilities Planning Committee
- (8) Parking and Transportation Committee
- (9) Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee
- (10) Research Policy Committee
- (11) Student Petitions Committee
- (12) Sustainability Committee

SENATE BYLAW 20 University Committees (Senate Bylaw 20, April 11, 2002, 1/2006, 4/2006)

- (A) Senate Organization and Procedure: University Committees
 - (2) Description of Committees
 - (b) Certain committees shall be designated as Joint Committees. These shall include:
 - 1. Academic Assessment Committee. The President shall appoint four members to this committee, and the Senate shall elect four members from the faculty at large. Preference should be given to members with previous experience in curriculum development and evaluation and/or program accreditation. The student government shall select one nonvoting student member. The President or the President's designee appoints the chair. A co-chair will be elected from and by the four Senate-elected members. The Academic Assessment Committee shall review Academic Learning Compacts (ALC) and Student Learning Outcomes (SLO) developed by each unit in order to assess their feasibility and consistency with University-wide evaluation. The committee will provide recommendations to the Provost on methods of assessing SLOs for each unit (including General Education). These recommendations may include unit self-assessment criteria already established. The committee will develop methods for assessing progress in implementing curricular recommendations. These methods should include input from student surveys. The committee will also develop long-term assessment plans for the undergraduate program at an institutional level. The committee will provide an annual report of its work, findings, and recommendations to the Senate and the President.