# Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes February 21, 2008 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 PM

The minutes of the January 17, 2008 meeting were approved.

#### Chair's Report

Rick Yost announced that the call for council nominations has been extended. Yost reported on the Ad-hoc committee to consider the chair of the University Curriculum Committee and the General Education Committee. Issues expected to come before the Senate by the end of this academic year include: Faculty authored course materials and conflict of interest recommendations, a report from the Ad hoc Committee on a Civil, Safe and Open Environment, a Child care resolution, and Sabbatical and Professional Development Leave recommendations. Each college should be reviewing the college budget and administrators should be consulting with faculty about budget cuts. The Steering Committee will provide input at University level cuts.

#### **President's Report**

Bernie Machen reported on campus safety and provided the Senate with a budget update. Machen explained the budget cuts and what the University has done to date. The Deans have been asked to prepare a plan to accommodate an additional 6% budget reduction to be implemented on July 1. Machen displayed a chart illustrating state appropriations and tuition revenue per FTE: AAU public average vs. UF.

## Information Items

Committee on Committees Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee membership revision proposal John Leavey, Committee on Committees Chair

The proposed change in committee membership will be presented as an action item at the March meeting.

Graduate Council Proposal Henry Frierson, Dean of the Graduate School Sunset Master of Health Science in Physical Therapy (MHS) Process Graduate Degree Program

The proposed sunset will be presented as an action item at the March meeting.

### **Constitution Committee Proposed Regulations**

**Cathy Martyniak**, Constitution Committee Chair elect The Constitution Committee presented its report on proposed regulations.

**Gordon Rule Proposal** Andy McCollough, General Education Committee Chair The Gordon Rule proposal will be presented as an action item at the March meeting.

#### Rick Yost, Chair

Bernie Machen, President

# Action Items

### Honorary Degrees Committee nominee

David Denslow, Honorary Degrees Committee Chair

Dave Denslow presented the Honorary Degrees Committee's revised internal operating procedures.

The nomination for Honorary Degree candidate Sanchez was approved.

### Constitution committee language Cathy Martyniak, Constitution committee chair-elect

• Council membership

The proposed council membership language was approved.

## **Open Floor Discussion**

Jerry Culter, Infrastructure Council Chair, notified the Senators that the council discussed the Vehicle Management Plan and the council made recommendations for revisions.

There was discussion about the Haridopolos hire.

The meeting adjourned at 4:05 PM

### Attendees:

Chunrong Ai Alex Alberro Nora Alter Tom Auxter Sammy Barkin Marylou Behnke David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Frank Bova Eve Brank Jane Brockmann Pamela Brown Sam Brown Judy Butterfield Youjin Choi Donald Cohen Elizabeth Creveling Oscar Crisalle Joseph Delfino Julie Dodd Bruce Edwards Joanne Foss Thomas Foster Elizabeth Frazier Stephen Futch Maria Gallo George Gerencser

Malay Ghosh Ellis Greiner Jeffrey Harman Edward Hart John Haydu Shannon holliday David Janicke Christopher Janiszewski Hazel Jones Rebecca Jordi Henry Jowers James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar Jodi Lane John Leacey Jenshan Lin William Lindberg Henrietta Logan Joseli Macedo William McArthur Heather McAuslane Sue McGorray Jack Mecholsky Bayard Miller Gloria Miller Jacqueline Miller Bill Montgomery Stephen Mulkey

Satya Narayan Ranga Narayana Phil Neuhoff Anthony Offerle Dan O'Neill David Pharies Deborah Popovich Kathleen Price Rose Pringle William Properzio David Quillen Tracy Rambo Ron Randles Eileen Raynor Patrick Reaks Roger Reep Rolf Renne Marilyn Roberts Pamela Roberts Leah Rosenberg Mary Beth Salisbury Kirk Schanze Richard Segal James Selph Orit Shechtman Wolfgang Sigmund Sharleen Simpson Brenda Smith Clay Smith David Smith Chris Snodgrass Craig Stanley Taylor Stein Michael Sweat Michele Tennant Joseph Tepas Robert Thomas Sharon Treen Jill Varnes

Eric Wachsman Susan Webb Brenda Williams Sally Williams George Wilson Naomi Young Dana Zimmel

#### **Ex Officio Attendees:**

Kirby Barrick Henry Frierson Janie Fouke Carol Kem Lucinda Lavelli Ruth Lowery Bernie Machen Cathleen Martyniak Carol Murphy Michael Perry Winfred Phillips John Wright Richard Yost

#### **Guests:**

S. F. Dermott Vic Micolucci Steve Orlando Daniel Wubah John Yelton Andy McCollough Harrison Dramoro John Ingram Jerry Culter Kelli Brown Gene Zdziarski Elaine Turner Flora Barns Patricia Thalia