Report of the Ad Hoc Committee for Determination of the Chair of the UCC and GEC

February 29, 2008

Ad Hoc Committee Members:

Curriculum Committee - Daniel Wubah, Dave Bloomquist General Education Committee - Andy McCollough (absent), Kim Tanzer Academic Policy Council - Carol Murphy, Jack Mecholsky (Chair) Committee on Committees - John Leavey, Ellis Greiner Provost's Office - Daniel Wubah Deans' representatives - Joe Glover, John Kraft

After much discussion, the committee arrived at a proposed solution to the selection of the committee chairs for the two committees. The solution should be considered a trial solution to be revisited in a year's time. The proposed revised composition of University Curriculum Committee and General Education Committee is as follows:

GEC – The number of members will be 8 appointed and 8 elected, with staggered (3-3-2) terms of 3-years, and 2 non- voting student members. The chair will be elected from the committee. There will be an administrative co-chair appointed by the President. The chair and liaison will have equal responsibility with the authority to act unilaterally.

UCC – The membership will be as the Faculty Senate proposed with 12 appointed and 12 elected members, with staggered (4-4-4) terms of 3 years. There will be 3 non-voting students. The chair will be appointed by the President.

Both of these proposals will be reviewed in a year's time (~ April 2009) using a survey of the members of the committees to determine if the proposed membership is satisfactory and viable to all involved.