Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 20, 2008 3:00 -5:00 P.M. **Reitz Union Auditorium**

The meeting was called to order at 3:02 PM The minutes of the October 16, 2008 meeting were approved.

Chair's report

Frank Bova discussed Governor Crist's proposal for new university funding. He also discussed the Faculty Enhancement Program, Compensation committee, SPP Review Committee, the Nomination process for University and Senate committees, and the open source text committee.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover reported that the College of Engineering Dean search will begin in the near future. Governor Crist has recognized problems with the state university system funding model and is considering a tuition differential not covered by Bright Futures in order to bring our tuition up to the national average of public colleges. Thirty percent of any differential would go to need based financial aid and the rest would be used for hiring faculty, advisors and counselors.

Information Items

Board of Trustees Update

Dianna Morgan discussed the opportunities that can come with the tuition differential. Superficially increased funding translates to increased responsibility especially with more defined goals and increased performance measures.

Information Technology Initiatives

Chuck Frazier presented information technology initiatives.

Budget Principles

David Quillen, Budget Council Chair David Quillen presented the budget council's draft budget principles. Comments can be made via a form on the Senate homepage.

APC Textbook Report

Danaya Wright presented the APC textbook report.

Action Items

Proposal to Create a Department of Dermatology at the University of Florida College of Medicine

The proposal was approved.

Joe Glover, Provost

Dianna Morgan, BoT Chair

Chuck Frazier, Interim CIO

Danaya Wright, APC Chair

Frank Bova, Chair

Proposed Constitution Changes Jim Seale, Constitution Committee Chair Elect The constitution changes were postponed until the next meeting due to a change that needed to be made to include faculty in centers, institutes and programs in Article 6 section II on page 23. The constitution committee will update the language and present the language for a vote in December.

Open Discussion from Senate Floor

Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

The meeting adjourned at 5:08 PM

Attendees: Sean Adams Nora Alter Kevin Anderson Theresa Antes Wayne Archer Steve Asare Lorena Baccaglini Azra Bihorac David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Ashley Booth Jane Brockmann Pamela Brown Regina Bussing Judy Butterfield Donald Cohen Robert Cook Elizabeth Creveling Oscar Crisalle David Criswell Jean Crockett Harry Daniels Timothy Davis Joseph Delfino Bruce Edwards Lily Elefteriadou Ian Flood Timothy Flynn Stephen Futch Maria Gallo George Gerencser Martin Gold Kelly Gary Eurom Wayne Griffin

Jeffrey Harman Edward Hart Richard Hill Shannon Holliday David Janicke Rebecca Jordi Henry Jowers James Keesling Kristen Kemple Saeed Khan Michael Kladde James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar Tony Ladd John Leavey Kathy Light Jenshan Lin William Lindberg Henrietta Logan Jack Mecholsky Mike Meldrom Bayard Miller Martha Monroe Cynthia Morton Carol Murphy Satya Narayan Scott Nygren Dan O'Neill Mark Orazem Marc Ottenga Joe Pergola Nancy Poehlmann Deborah Popovich Rose Pringle

William Properzio David Quillen Eileen Raynor Patrick Reakes David Reed Ruth Ron Sandra Russo Richard Segal Orit Shechtman Wolfgang Sigmund Sharleen Simpson Susan Sinnott Daniel Siragusa Brenda Smith Chris Snodgrass Taylor Stein Michael Sweat Joseph Tepas Sharon Treen Bryan Unruh Eric Wachsman George Wilson Jennifer Zedalis Dana Zimmel Barbara Zsembik

Liaisons: Jacob Chung Steve Dorman Henry Frierson Ellis Greiner Lucinda Lavelli Danaya Wright Richard Yost Student Senators Lauren Gispanski Yooni Yi Guests: Marc Heft Tiffany Schmidt James Seale Chuck Frazier David Cumming Fedro Zazueta Anna Callun Hollombe Angel Kowlek Folland JJ Van Der Ae Harrison Diamond