Article VI

ORGANIZATIONAL UNITS OF THE UNIVERSITY

Section 1. ACADEMIC ORGANIZATION OF THE UNIVERSITY-

- (A) There shall be established such academic and administrative units as are necessary for administering the educational programs of the University.
- (B) The basic degree-granting unit of the University shall be the college, in which there may be schools, departments, and such units as are necessary.
- (C) Colleges and schools may be established or abolished by the initiative of the Faculty Senate with the approval of the President of the University and the Board of Trustees. The initiative for establishment or abolition of such units may also be exercised by the Board of Trustees.
- (D) Organizational units may have bylaws (or similar governing documents) that implement the principles of shared governance. Such bylaws (or similar governing documents) shall be governed and subordinate to the Florida law, the policies and directives of the Florida Board Governors, and the University of Florida Board of Trustees, University of Florida regulations, the provisions of this Constitution and the Senate Bylaws, and the Collective Bargaining Agreement for those faculty in the bargaining unit.
 - (DE) Faculty shall have a shared governance role in determining any changes to the structure and character, including but not limited to forming, consolidating, transferring, closing and renaming, of the colleges, schools and departments in which they are appointed. Such changes shall require the approval of the Faculty Senate. Procedures for this process are set forth in the Bylaws.