SENATE BYLAW 20 University Committees (Senate Bylaw 20, April 11, 2002, 1/2006, 4/2006)

- 2 (b) Certain committees shall be designated as Joint Committees. These shall include:
 - 2. University Curriculum Committee. The President shall appoint 20 12 members to this committee, and the Senate will elect three 12 members from the faculty at large, and three non-voting student members selected by the student government. The Chair is appointed by the President or the President's designee. This Committee shall consider all requests for changes in undergraduate curricula or catalog listings, and for the addition of new courses of instruction in any of the colleges, divisions and schools of the University, except the Graduate School. When the question under consideration pertains to a course or courses at the "5000" level, available for graduate major credit, the Committee shall act jointly with the Graduate School. The Committee shall endeavor to eliminate duplication of subject matter between courses and unnecessary proliferation of courses. Ordinarily, the Committee's decisions on proposals to add courses to the curriculum or to delete courses from the curriculum shall be final, but the department which would offer the course, or has been offering it, may appeal the Committee's decision to the Senate. Such an appeal would be addressed to the Curriculum Committee, which might either reverse its earlier decision or ask the Steering Committee to schedule Senate consideration of the appeal. The Committee's decision on proposals to add, delete, or make changes in programs of instruction leading to undergraduate degrees shall not be a final decision, but shall be submitted to the Senate for final action.
 - 3. General Education Committee. The President shall appoint 13
 eight members to this committee from the majority of
 baccalaureate degree-granting colleges within the University, and
 the Senate will elect three eight members from the faculty at large,
 and two non-voting student members selected by the student
 government. The chair will be elected from the committee. There
 will be an administrative co-chair appointed by the President. The
 Chair is appointed by the President or the President's designee.
 The General Education Committee establishes a philosophy of
 what constitutes the general education component for
 baccalaureate degrees offered by the University. It reviews, in

accordance with established criteria, all courses proposed to fulfill general education and Gordon Rule requirements. It makes recommendations to the Curriculum Committee regarding the continued effectiveness of the general education program.

Section 5. JOINT COMMITTEES. Faculty involvement is important for the disposition of certain key University issues with academic and administrative implications. In the spirit of shared governance, these issues are dealt with by Joint Committees. These committees are established and dissolved jointly by the President and the Senate and include members appointed by the President and members elected by the Senate to represent the faculty. Typically one half of each Committee's membership is comprised of elected faculty members and one half of appointed faculty members, except as specified otherwise in the Senate Bylaws. Joint Committees report to the President and, to the extent allowed, provide information on committee activities and meeting minutes to the Senate. At any time the President or Senate may evaluate the effectiveness of Joint Committees in conjunction with the Committee on Committees. Through the mechanism established in Article VIII, such committees may be mutually restructured.

The Joint Committees are:

- (1) Academic Personnel Board
- (2) University Curriculum Committee
- (3) General Education Committee
- (4) Graduate Council
- (5) Lakes, Vegetation and Landscape Committee
- (6) Land Use and Facilities Planning Committee
- (7) Parking and Transportation Committee
- (8) Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee
- (9) Research Policy Committee
- (10 Student Petitions Committee
- (11) Sustainability Committee