

218H Criser Hall P.O. Box 114010 Gainesville, Florida 32611-4010

Tel: (352) 392-2025 Fax: (352) 392-3987

http://www.senate.ufl.edu

Faculty Senate ad hoc Committee on Faculty Compensation Convened on December 12, 2003 By Prof. Anthony B. Brennan, Faculty Senate Chair

Committee Charge:

Whereas, the University of Florida aspires to achieve a "top ten" ranking among the American Association of Universities and Colleges Research Institutions with regard to our academic mission,

And the University of Florida has identified that the strength of any institution of higher learning is the quality and productivity of the Faculty,

And the University of Florida Board of Trustees has demonstrated a vision that includes a commitment to a Strategic Plan that identifies the need for improving our Faculty retention rates,

I hereby commission, the Faculty Senate ad hoc Committee on Faculty Compensation to evaluate the scope of financial compensation and benefits packages for Faculty of the at least, but not necessarily limited to the following top ten ranked AAU institutions:

University of California System (e.g., Berkeley, UCLA, UCSD)

University of Virginia

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

College of William & Mary (VA) University of Wisconsin, Madison Georgia Institute of Technology

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

And in addition:

Ohio State University University of Minnesota

And where these institutions do not adequately represent the equivalent academic mission of the University of Florida, those institutions deemed equivalent in this sense should be included in the analysis.

Futhermore, the committee should determine to the best of its ability based upon time and resources, the diversity of Faculty compensation that may exist at each of the institutions and any particular programs, plans or processes that may have been implemented or planned to ensure both equity and quality of compensation for all Faculty based upon quality and level of performance that contributes to the overall academic mission.

The committee should submit a report to the Faculty Senate no later than April 8, 2004 for inclusion on the Faculty Senate April 2004 Meeting Agenda.

Committee Chair: Prof. David Denslow, Members: Prof. Barbara Barletta, COM; Prof. Frank Bova, COM; Prof. Maryann Eaverly; CLAS; Mr. Larry Ellis, Human Resources; Prof. Jesse Gregory, IFAS; Prof. Mike Katovich; COM; Prof. Kurt Kent JOU; Prof. James Klausner, ENG; Prof. David Richardson, CLAS; Dean Jill Varnes, HHP, Prof. Eric Wachsman, ENG.