## Faculty Senate Welfare Council Minutes April 22, 2010 8:00 AM 226 Tigert

## **Attendees:**

Mary Ann Ferguson Heather McAuslane Tony Offerle Shawn Kneipp Paula Fussell Wayne Griffin Jen Day-Shaw Kathy Light Rebecca Pauly

The meeting was called to order at 8:07 AM

The minutes of the March 2010 meeting were approved.

The council discussed mental health issues with Wayne Griffin, Associate Director of the Counseling Center and Jen Day-Shaw, Dean of Students.

The group discussed a focus on training faculty in what they should do and how to refer students.

The council recommended that an online course for this information would be helpful for faculty.

The counseling center can do trainings in colleges and there is currently a PowerPoint presentation on this topic online.

The council discussed how to help faculty and students make transitions when their chosen career or educational path is not working.

Kathy Light was elected chair.

The meeting adjourned at 9:13 AM