Senate Steering Committee Minutes April 1, 2010 3:00-5:00 P.M. Tigert 226

Attendees:

Jack Mecholsky Barbara Wingo Amelia Bell David Quillen Mary Ann Ferguson Scott Nygren Jane Brockmann Joe Glover Frank Bova

Guests: Barnard Mair Judy Russell Margaret Temple-Smith Mark Bishop Jim Seale

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM.

The minutes of the March meeting were approved.

Reports:

Chair's Report

Jack Mecholsky, Chair

Jack Mecholsky reported that two bills are being considered during the legislative session regarding teachers and retirement plans. There will be a May 6th Senate meeting and an April 29th Steering Committee meeting. Mecholsky announced Marc Heft and Scott Nygren as the chair elect nominees. Mecholsky also announced that the Senate has received a request to review the 75 minute class issue. The Provost discussed the students in the documentary film institute and their documentary on Haiti.

Information Items:

Open Access and the library's institutional repository Judy Russell, University Libraries Dean This item will be an information item at the April Senate meeting.

Proposal to create a department of linguistics in CLAS

The program has been in place since 1969 and has been functioning as a department. The proposal has been approved by the faculty, dean, provost, UCC and APC. Linguistics is already a stand-alone unit. This item will be an information item at the April Senate meeting.

Department changes in PHHP and COM

The committee discussed the proposed reorganization to improve interdisciplinary education and collaboration between these two departments. The reorganization will improve productivity and

national identities. This proposal will require a constitutional change to allow a department to fall into more than one college. This item will be an information item at the April Senate meeting.

Credit Hour Increase for an Electrical Engineering Degree-Bernard Mair, UCC Chair The committee discussed the proposal and discussed the UCC workload. This item will be an information item at the April Senate meeting.

Academic Assessment Committee Constitution Language

Margaret Temple Smith Constitution Committee Chair elect This item will be an information item at the April Senate meeting.

UF Alumni Association Jeffery Q. Jonasen President, UF Alumni Association This item will be an information item at the April Senate meeting.

Council Reports:

Research and Scholarship Council

The council discussed effort reporting and identified complexities. Scott Nygren requested that effort reporting be an information item at the April senate meeting. The council had discussed proposing an online effort reporting that includes pop-ups to make faculty aware of the implications of completing forms. Nygren reported that Henrietta Logan will be chair and Bob Cook will be cochair and Deb Murie will be representative on the effort reporting task force.

Welfare Council

No report.

Academic Policy Council

No report. Nancy Poehlman will be chair for the upcoming year.

Budget Council

Energy management and RCM will be the council's agenda for next year. James Klausner and Regina Bussing will be next year's co-chairs.

Infrastructure Council

The council discussed the textbook adoption website and concerns with the site. The textbook adoption site group will interact with the IC in the future to obtain feedback. The council will talk about the FERPA training module from the point of view of the faculty member taking it. Barbara Wingo will meet with Susan Blair to discuss FERPA training in order to make changes to the module. Feedback about the training should be given to Wingo. Chuck Frazier and Steve Pritze will be at the next IC meeting to discuss FERPA training on their sites. The council would like to know is the authority on what trainings are required and if trainings can be combined?

Action Items:

The directed discussion topic will be Open Access and Scott Nygren will present on effort reporting. The agenda was approved.

The meeting adjourned at 4:35 PM

Jane Brockmann, Chair

Scott Nygren, Chair

Tracy Rambo, Co-Chair

Tony Offerle, Chair

David Quillen, Chair