Senate Minutes Special Meeting May 4, 2006 3:00 -5:00 P.M. 130 BRY

# Agenda:

## **Information Items:**

 Report on Alfred P. Sloan Awards Debra Walker King, Associate Provost for Faculty Development

Debra Walker King reported on the Alfred P. Sloan Awards process. The award is for Faculty Career Flexibility and recognizes universities who implemented good programs and strategies for faculty welfare and development. Dr. King updated the Senate on the process for the award selection and notified the Senate of UF's current standing in the awards process. In order to continue in the process there needs to be a 40 percent response rate to a survey regarding faculty development.

### Report of the Senate Council on Research and Scholarship on the Statement on 1UF Research and IDC Distribution Rick Yost, Council Chair

Rick Yost reviewed the proposed guidelines for 1UF Research and IDC distribution drafted by the Senate Council on Research and Scholarship. This will be an action item in the fall after a potential workshop or additional discussions.

## Action Items:

#### Strategic Work Plan Resolution

Kim Tanzer, Chair

Kim Tanzer reviewed the process through which faculty input was gathered and considered for inclusion in the strategic work plan recommendations. The Faculty Senate will have three representatives work with the President's office to incorporate the Senate's recommendations into a document to present to the Board of Trustees. The Academic Policy Council used 5 principles of make recommendations based on the faculty input: 1. Recognize top 10 universities have a strong core of traditional excellence based on a broad academic background 2. identify thematic areas of excellence rather than thematic system of implementation by not singling out specific units or colleges 3. importance of placing the mission and vision statements in preamble 4. recognition of support necessary to achieve excellence in expanding the staff section to make the work plan inclusive of all stakeholders 5. underline importance of international and interdisciplinary work.

Dr. Machen stated that the Board of Trustees wants input into this document at the June Board of Trustees meeting. Dr. Machen stated that one possibility for presentation to the Trustees would be to submit the original draft and the recommendations and then work to incorporate together after the Fall semester. Frank Bova moved to endorse the resolution. Eric Wachsman moved to amend the resolution to endorse the recommendations of the work plan. Frank Bova accepted this amendment. The motion passed unanimously as amended.

 Consideration of motion taking from the table the motion to approve the proposal to create a department of epidemiology and biostatistics in the College of Public Health and Health Professions

Kim Tanzer, Chair

Dr. Frank made a presentation regarding the proposal to create the department of epidemiology and biostatistics.

Bryan Weber moved to take the motion off of the table. The motion to create a department of epidemiology and biostatistics in the college of Public Health and Health Professions passed.

The meeting adjourned at 4:30 P.M.

#### **Senator Attendees:**

Janaki Alavalapati Jean Andino Samin Anghaie Jerry Bartz **Russell Bauer** David Bloom **David Bloomquist** Kenneth Boote Frank Bova Jesse Boyles Lawrence Brock William Buhi Mary Ann Burg **Regina Bussing Douglas Cenzer** Sandra Chance Carlene Chase Bill Chen Patrick Colahan Maureen Conroy Oscar Crisalle Harry Daniels **Timothy Davis** Julie Dodd Joanne Foss Elizabeth Frazier Martin Gold Donald Graetz Jesse Gregory Ellis Greiner

Curt Hannah Carrie Haskell-Luevano Marc Heft Marjorie Hoy Mike Katovich Kristen Kemple Saeed Khan Peter Kima James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar Ary Lamme Jodi Lane Christy Lemak William Lindberg Joseli Macedo Cathleen Martyniak Jacqueline Miller David Mulkey Carol Murphy June Nogle Rebecca Pauly Kaythleen Price Jaquelyn Resnick Leah Rosenberg Alan Sawyer Orit Shechtman **Richard Segal** James Selph Mark Sheplak Stephen Smith Chris Snodgrass

Anita Spring Laura Sutton Thomas Vickroy Eric Wachsman Bryan Weber Michael Weigold Steven Willis George Wilson Danaya Wright Allen Wysocki Rick Yost

### **Ex-officio attendees:**

Robert Frank Ken Gerhardt Carol Kem Bernie Machen Stephen Pritz William Riffee Kim Tanzer

#### **Guests:**

Myra Brown Mary Sheps Elena Andresen Nabrh Asul Yung Sung Joo Linda Young Deb Burr Debra Walker King Sven Normann Babette Brumback Yumiko Hulvey Paul Duncan Tom Walsh Florence Babb