Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes January 17, 2008 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:05 PM

The December 13, 2007 minutes were approved.

Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair

Rick Yost announced that an article on differential tuition, written by the Provost, will be in the January issue of Academics. The deadline for nominations for committees has been extended by one week.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

President Machen reported on the University budget and possible legislative budget cuts. The administration is asking deans to make proposals for possibilities program reductions. The vice presidents are also creating proposals for possible program reduction. President Machen will try to find programs that have a minimal impact on the strategic plan. The reduction package will be presented to the Board of Trustees after it is vetted on campus.

<u>Information Items</u>

Healthy Gators 2010

Chris Machen, Healthy Gators 2010 steering committee chair and **Jill Varnes**, vice chair Chris Machen and Jill Varnes reported on the Health Gators 2010 program.

Report from the Ad-hoc Committee on a Civil, Safe and Open Environment

Kim Tanzer, Committee Chair

Kim Tanzer presented a report on the status of the Ad-hoc Committee on a Civil, Safe and Open Environment. The committee will develop recommendations this spring.

Constitution committee language Cathy Martyniak, Constitution committee chair-elect

• Council membership

Cathy Martyniak presented a proposal to clarify council membership language on behalf of the constitution committee. The item will be presented as an action item at the February Senate meeting.

Action Items

Curriculum Committee Items

Henry Frireson, Dean of the Graduate School

 Request to change degree name from Turfgrass Science to Golf and Sports Turf Management

The motion was approved.

Sustainability Resolution

Jeff Burkhardt, Sustainability committee chair

The resolution was approved with one opposed vote.

Constitution committee

Cathy Martyniak, Constitution committee chair-elect

• Changes to the Constitution The recommendations were approved.

Open Floor Discussion

Senators expressed a need to help people understand what impact the University of Florida has on the state through teaching, extension and medical facilities.

The meeting adjourned at 4:12 PM

Attendees George Gerencser Alex Alberro Martin Gold Ellis Greiner Nora Alter Tom Auxter Dave Hackett Azra Bihorac Jeffrey Harman Alice Harmon David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Edward Hart Ashley Booth Kirk Hatfield Frank Bova John Haydu Eve Brank Marc Heft Jane Brockmann Marc Hoit

Pamela Brown Shannon Holliday William Buhi David Janicke Regina Bussing Rebecca Jordi Judy Butterfield Stan Kave George Christou Saeed Khan Jacob Chung James Klausner Chris Cogle Shawn Kneipp Stu Cohn Gail Kunkle Donald Cohn Tony Ladd Elizabeth Creveling John Leavey Henrietta Logan David Criswell Jean Crockett Heather McAuslane Harry Daniels Sue McGorray

Lawrence Datnoff Robert McGovern Mark Davis Gloria Miller Timothy Davis Deb Mitra Lori Deitte Bill Montgomery Joseph Delfino Marjorie Moore Andy Naranjo Julie Dodd Mary Ann Ferguson Scott Nygren Ian Flood Anthony Offerle Timothy Flynn Dan O'Neill Joanne Foss Mark Orazem

Elizabeth Frazier Joe Pergola Maria Gallo Deborah Popovich Kathleen Price

Rose Pringle

William Properzio

Tracy Rambo

Ron Randles

Roger Reep

Jaquelyn Resnick

Marilyn Roberts

Pamela Roberts

Leah Rosenberg

Victoria Rovine

Mary Beth Salisbury

Kirk Schanze

Miren Schino

Richard Segal

James Selph

Orit Shechtman

Wolfgang Sigmund

Susan Sinnott

Clay Smith

David Smith

Chris Snodgrass

Craig Stanley

Taylor Stein

Michael Sweat

Michele Tennant

Joseph Tepas

Sevan Terzian

Robert Thomas

Sharon Treen

Bryan Unruh

Jill varnes

Eric Wachsman

Sally Williams

Steve Willis

Naomi Young

Dana Zimmel

Barbara Zsembik

Student Senators

Charli Jane Walrond

Guests

H. Robert Kold

E Harvey

Brent Ransom

Cathy Martyniak

Pete Hansen

Lynn Sollenberger

Aragli Castaneda

Doug Jordi

Beth Layton

Ex officio

Janie Fouke

Henry Frierson

Dennis Jett

Carol Kem

Pramod Khargoenkar

Ruth Lowery

Carol Murphy

Rebecca Pauly

Michael Perri

Judith Russell

Danaya Wright

Allen Wysocki

Richard Yost