Proposed Revision of the Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee

Current Senate Bylaw 20 B 2 h

Preservation of Historic Buildings & Sites Committee. The Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee consists of ten faculty members, five appointed by the President or his/her designee and five elected by the Senate from the faculty at large, plus two student members. The Chair is elected. This committee assists the University in implementing its Policy on Historic Preservation, filed with the Florida Secretary of State, as a Programmatic Memorandum of Agreement for Protection of Historical Resources. In support of this Memorandum, it assists the University in fulfilling federal and state obligations with respect to its historic and archeological resources. It reports to the Vice President for Finance and Administration the significant findings on all matters considered by the Committee.

Revision, as requested by PHBSC and agreed to by the COC:

The Preservation of Historic Buildings and Sites Committee consists of **fourteen** faculty members, **five** appointed by the President or his/her designee, the University Historian and the Director of Preservation Programs as voting ex-officio members, and seven elected by the Senate from the faculty at large, plus two non-voting student members. The Chair is elected. The committee is assisted in its efforts by four university liaisons, the Assistant Director of Architecture and Engineering in the Physical Plant Division, the Director of Facilities Planning and Construction, the Assistant Director for Planning, and the Assistant Housing Director for Facilities Management. This committee assists the University in implementing its Policy on Historic Preservation, filed with the Florida Secretary of State, as a Programmatic Memorandum of Agreement for Protection of Historical Resources. In support of this Memorandum, it assists the University in fulfilling federal and state obligations with respect to its historic and archeological resources. It reports to the Vice President for Finance and Administration the significant findings on all matters considered by the Committee.