Senate Meeting Minutes September 20, 2007 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:01 PM

The minutes of the August 23, 2007 Senate meeting were approved.

Reports

Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair

Dr. Yost reported that the Faculty Senate is working with administration to form a faculty/student committee to review the FDLE report regarding the town hall meeting with John Kerry. The committee will also review the incident and relevant procedures. The committee will be comprised of 4 faculty members, 4 students and a faculty chair. Dr. Yost welcomes nominations, suggestions and concerns.

Nominations are being accepted for appointment to the curriculum committee and the general education committee. The constitutional language has not been approved yet but the appointments will help transition to the approved structure of have elected and half appointed members. One quarter of the members will be appointed to serve a one year term, which is: 5 members to the curriculum committee and 3 members to the general education committee.

The Dean of Students office would like one faculty member to sit on the common reading program selection committee.

The deadline for nominations for honorary degrees is October 1.

The October Senate meeting will be held at the cultural plaza. Please RSVP for events.

The Welfare council is reviewing options for a faculty club at UF. Friday appears to be the best time for most faculty members.

In the spring the Faculty Senate office collected shared governance reports from each college. The summaries will be posted on the senate Web site.

The budget council has a budget FAQ on their Web site. If you have questions about the budget process, please send them to the council.

President's Report and Budget Report

Bernie Machen, President

Dr. Machen presented a report on the budget. The Legislature will meet on Oct. 3-10 to discuss budget cuts.

Information Item

Board of Trustees Meeting Report

Rick Yost, Chair

Two new committees were created: the task force on cost reduction and efficiency and the BOT Committee on Resources. Rick Yost sits on the Committee on Resources and Frank Bova sits on the Task Force on Cost Reduction and Efficiency.

Dr. Machen created goals for next year stemming from SWP goals:

Funds for faculty and staff raises next year

Develop new support for faculty enhancement for research leaves, sabbaticals and scholarship.

Action Items

Graduate Council Items

Henry Frierson, Dean Graduate School

- o LL.M in Environmental & Land Use Law
- Eliminate the graduate degrees in Engineering Mechanics and Engineering Science

The proposals were approved.

Curriculum Committee

Daniel Wubah, Associate Provost, Undergraduate Affairs

o Elimination of BS in Engineering Science

The proposal was approved.

Open Floor Discussion

Floor is open to Senators first. Three minute limit per speaker.

The meeting adjourned at 4:01 PM

Attendees:

Eve Brank Chunrong Ai Nora Alter Jane Brockmann Tom Auxter Pamela Brown Sammy Barkin William Buhi Azra Bihorac Regina Bussing David Bloomquist Judy Butterfield Kenny Cheng Elizabeth Bolton George Christou Ashley Booth Frank Bova Chris Cogle

Elizabeth Creveling Jacqueline Miller David Criswell Bill Montgomery Mark Davis Stephen Mulkey Timothy Davis Satya Narayan Ranga Narayana Lori Deitte Joseph Delfino Sven Norman Julie Dodd Scott Nygren **Bruce Edwards** Dan O'Neill Mary Ann Ferguson Mark Orazem Ian Flood Deborah Popovich Joanne Foss Kathleen Price Thomas Foster Rose Pringle Stephen Futch William Properzio Maria Gallo David Quillen George Gerencser Tracy Rambo Malay Ghosh Ron Rnadles Eileen Raynor Martin Gold

Jeffrey Harman Rolf Renne
Alice Harmon Jaquelyn Resnick
Christy Harris Lemak Victorial Rovine
Edward Hart Kirk Schanze
Carrie Haskell Luevano Richard Segal

Patrick Reakes

Roger Reep

Ellis Greiner

Dave Hackett

Kirk Hatfield James Selph John Haydu Orit Shechtman Susan Sinnott Marc Heft David Janicke Clay Smith Rebecca Jordi **David Smith** Henry Jowers **Taylor Stein** Stan Kaye Michael sweat James Keesling Michele Tennant Joseph Tepas William Kem Saeed Khan **Robert Thomas** James Klausner Pham Tiep Sharon Treen Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar Bryan Unruh Jodi Lane Jill Varnes

Eric Wachsman John Leavey Susan Webb Jenshan Lin William Lindberg Sally Williams Steven Willis Henrietta Logan Joseli Macedo George Wilson Heather McAuslane Naomi Young Dana Zimmel Sue McGorray Barbara Zsembik Robert McGovern

Student Senators:

Ryan Mosely Yooni Yi

Ex-officio:

Janie Fouke

Henry Frierson

Dennis Jett

Ruth Lowery

Carol Murphy

Rebecca Pauly

Michael Perri

Judith Russell

Christopher Silver

Danaya Wright John Wright

Rick Yost