Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes November 15, 2007 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:04 PM

The minutes of the October meeting were approved.

Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair

Rick Yost reported that the Senate Council on Research and Scholarship is surveying colleges in order to get input about sabbaticals from the faculty. Dr. Yost also announced that Student Government has arranged for discounts at the University bookstore later this month.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

President Machen reported that the undergraduate application process has changed to one deadline and one admission period. In order to register for spring classes, students must update their contact information with their cell phone numbers in order to facilitate emergency text messages for on campus emergencies. Students will be required to update their information each semester. The University is moving forward with the cost containment efficiency task force recommendations for new revenues and cost reductions. The recommendations will be discussed at the Board of Trustees meeting at the end of the month and a letter will be sent to faculty after the BOT discussion.

Information Items

Responding to Campus Crisis

Gene Zdziarski, Dean of Students, presented information on how Student Affairs responds to a campus crisis, including how faculty members should handle disruptive and troubled students.

Constitution Committee Proposed Language for General Education Committee, University Curriculum Committee and student members on Policy Councils

Mary Ann Ferguson, constitution committee chair, presented proposed language for general education committee, university curriculum committee and student members on policy councils. Concern regarding the composition of the General Education Committee was raised by Deans.

Proposed regulation (6C1-3.0375) regarding tuition cost

Mary Ann Ferguson, constitution committee chair, presented the Constitution Committee's recommendation regarding the tuition cost regulation.

Action Items

Department Name Change

Bill Millard, Executive Associate Dean

From Pharmacy Health Care Administration to Department of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy

The proposal was approved.

Curriculum Committee

Daniel Wubah, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education

College of Business

Change in name of the undergraduate major from the Decision and Information Sciences Department to Information Systems and Operations Management Department.

College of Engineering

Proposed change in degree requirement for Bachelor in Materials Science and Engineering Proposed change for a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science offered through the College of Engineering

Proposed increase in credits in Nuclear Engineering from 126 to 129

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Proposed revision to the Bachelor of Health Science Program

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

Proposed changes to the Agricultural Education and Communication Specializations

Proposed changes to the Soil and Water major and minor

Proposed changes to the Entomology and Nematology minor

School of Business Proposal for Creation

The proposals were approved.

Graduate Council Items

Henry Frierson, Dean Graduate School

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Request to Sunset degrees:

Degree Name:

Master of Science in Teaching

Master of Arts in Teaching

Linguistics

The proposals were approved.

Resolution on the Student Conduct Code Review Committee

Kim Tanzer, Student Conduct Code Committee Co-Chair

The resolution was approved unanimously.

Open Floor Discussion

The meeting adjourned at 4:11 PM

Attendees Nora Alter Tom Auxter Sammy Barkin Marylou Behnke Azra Bihorac Linda Bloom David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Frank Bova Regina Bussing Judy Butterfield Kenny Cheng George Christou Stu Cohn Donald Cohen Elizabeth Creveling David Criswell

David Criswell
Lawrence Datnoff
Timothy Davis
Lori Deitte
Julie Dodd
Bruce Edwards

Mary Ann Ferguson
Ian Flood
Joanne Foss
Thomas Foster
Elizabeth Frazier
Maria Gallo
George Gerencser
Malay Ghosh
Paul Goldstein
Ellis Greiner
Dave Hackett
Jeffrey Harman

Christy Harris Lemak Edward Hart

Carrie Haskell Luevano

Kirk Hatfield John Haydu Marc Heft Marc Hoit

Marc Hoit Shannon Holliday David Janicke James Keesling William Kem Saeed Khan Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar Tony Ladd John Leavey Jenshan Lin William Lindberg

Henrietta Logan Joseli Macedo William McArthur Sue McGorray Robert McGovern Jack Mecholsky Bayard Miller

Gloria Miller Jacqueline Miller

Deb Mitra
Bill Montgomery
Stephen Mulkey
Andy Naranjo
Satya Narayan
Anthony Offerle
Dan O'Neill
Mark Orazem
Deborah Popovich

Kathleen Price Rose Pringle William Properzio Ron Randles Eileen Raynor Patrick Reaks Roger Reep Jaquelyn Resnick

Leah Rosenberg
Victoria Rovine
Miren Schino
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Signund
Sharleen Simpson
Susan Sinnott
David Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Craig Stanley
Taylor Stein
Michael Sweat
Joseph Tepas

Joseph Tepas Sevan Terzian Robert Thomas Pham Tiep Sharon Treen Jill Varnes Thomas Vickroy Brenda Williams

Sally Williams George Wilson

Naomi Young Dana Zimmel

Barbara Zsembik

Ex officio Attendees:

Janie Fouke Henry Frierson Carol Kem

Pramod Khargonekar

Carol Murphy Rebecca Pauly Michael Perri Steve Pritz John Wright Rick Yost

Student Senator Attendees:

Paul Drayton Caroline Stone Namrata Uberoi Yooni Yi Vanessa Uoochin Mary Grace Bell

Guests:

Kim Urmath Tairuze Sofia

Harrison Diamond

Ashley Sutton

Andy McCollough Kim Tanzer

Ashley Gaillard Carole Kimberlin

Bill Millard

Cathy Martyniak Jason Handin

Jason Handin John Ingram Daniel Wubah Cecil Andrew Amanda Rahn David Peterson

Ori Blitstein

Micahel Ginsberg Stephanie Hanson

Josh Jackson Chase Mason Mary Smith