Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes December 13, 2007 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 PM

The minutes of the November 15, 2007 Senate meeting were approved.

Chair's Report Rick Yost, Chair

Rick Yost announced that the deadline for call for nominations for University committees is January 18, 2008. The Reitz Union master plan committee is looking for Senate representatives to serve on the committee. The Traffic and Parking appeals committee is also looking for volunteers to make decisions on traffic and parking appeals. Yost also gave an update on the November Board of Trustees meeting.

Provost's Report Janie Fouke, Provost

The Provost reported that the University has received roughly 26,000 applications and that the application process has been automated with the exception of a few low income schools where admissions staff assisted with a paper application process. The Provost also asked faculty to become involved in the admissions process by reading admissions essays. The University is reviewing recommendations to reduce costs and increase revenues. The BOT discussed increasing fees for items permitted by statute. The financial unit of PeopleSoft will be introduced during the summer. Additionally, the University catalogue will be an online publication soon.

Information Items

Sustainability Resolution Jeff Burkhardt, Sustainability committee chair The Sustainability resolution will be presented as an action item in January.

Curriculum Committee Items

Daniel Wubah, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education

 Request to change degree name from Turfgrass Science to Golf and Sports Turf Management

The curriculum committee item will be presented as an action item in January.

Constitution committee

Mary Ann Ferguson, Constitution committee chair

• Changes to the Constitution

The recommended constitution changes will be presented as an action item in January.

Open Floor Discussion

Senators expressed concern about the fleet management proposal, free speech at the University, council composition, and the University budget.

The meeting adjourned at 4:02 PM

Attendees: Alex Alberro Nora Alter Tom Auxter Azra Bihorac David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Ashley Booth Frank Bova Eve Brank Iane Brockmann Pamela Brown William Buhi Regina Bussing Judy Butterfield George Christou

Jacob Chung
Chris Cogle
Stu Cohn
Donald Cohen
Elizabeth Creveling
David Criswell
Jean Crockett
Harry Daniels
Lawrence Datnoff

Lawrence Datnoff Mark Davis Timothy Davis Lori Deitte Joseph Delfino Julie Dodd

Mary Ann Ferguson

Ian Flood
Timothy Flynn
Joanne Foss
Elizabeth Frazier
Stephen Futch
Maria Gallo

George Gerencser Martin Gold Elis Greiner Dave Hackett Jeffrey Harman Alice Harmon Edward Hart Kirk Hatfield John Haydu Marc Heft Marc Hoit

Shannon Holliday

David Janicke
Rebecca Jordi
Henry Jowers
Stan Kaye
Saeed Khan
James Klausner
Shawn Kneipp
Gail Kunkle
Tony Ladd
John Leavey
Henrietta Logan
Heather McAuslane
Sue Mcgorray
Robert McGovern
Gloria Miller

Deb Mitra
Bill Montgomery
Marjorie Moore
Andy Naranjo
Scott Nygren
Anthony Offerle
Dan O'Neill
Mark Orazem
Joe Pergola
Deborah Popovich

Kathleen Price
Rose Pringle
William Properzio
Tracy Rambo
Ron Randles
Roger Reep
Jaquelyn Resnick
Marilyn Roberts
Pamela Roberts
Leah Rosenberg
Victoria Rovine
Mary Beth Salisbury

Kirk Schanze

Miren Schino
Richard Segal
James Selph
Orit Shechtman
Wolfgang Sigmund
Susan Sinnott
Clay Smith
David Smith
Chris Snodgrass
Craig Stanley
Taylor Stein

Michael Sweat
Michele Tennant
Joseph Tepas
Robert Thomas
Sharon Treen
Bryan Unruh
Jill Varnes
Eric Wachsman
Sally Williams
Steven Willis
Naomi Young
Dana Zimmel
Barbara Zsembik

Student Senators

Charli Jane Walrond

Guests

H. Robert Kolb E. Harvey Brent Ransom Cathy Martyniak Pete Hanson Lynn Sollenberger Aragli Castaneda Doug Jordi Beth Layton

Ex officio

Janie Fouke
Henry Frierson
Dennis Jett
Carol Kem
Pramod Khargonekar
Ruth Lowery
Carol Murphy
Rebecca Pauly
Michael Perri
Judith Russell
Danaya Wright
Allen Wysocki
Richard Yost