Senate Minutes March 22, 2007 3:00 - 5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Grand Ballroom

Danaya Wright called the meeting to order at 3:02 PM the February 15, 2007 minutes were approved.

Reports:

Chair's Report

Dr. Wright announced that the Board of Governors and the Board of Trustees will be meeting in Gainesville next week. Shared Governance Task Force reports are due to the Senate office on April 30. Nominations for councils are still open. The minus grades resolution was approved by the President. Nominees for Senators are due to the Senate office on March 23. March 28 will be a take back the night event organized by the students. Dr. Wright recommended that the Senate work to create a process for recognizing student events.

Provost's Report

Dr. Fouke reported that the Hub was recently reopened. The renovated building now houses the International Center, Academic technologies, conference rooms and training rooms. The University has hired a new Dean of the Graduate School, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs, Dean of the Libraries and is still searching for a Dean of the College of Medicine. An announcement for applications was recently sent for Dean of the College of Journalism. UF will be accepting 6, 600 freshmen this year. The administration is considering accepting applications based on one deadline. The video boards that are used in the O'Connell center for basketball games will be available for college ceremonies taking place in the O'Connell center. The Academic Enhancement Program made it though one committee. There are 4 more committees to go through.

Information Items:

County Extension Faculty
 Rebecca Pauly, Welfare Council Chair
The Welfare council will not move forward with their recommendation regarding county
extension faculty. The council will look to alternative solutions to solve the APB's work load
issues.

- Graduate council items
 Ken Gerhardt, Interin
 - PhD in Biostatistics
 - o Graduate School of Business

The PhD in Biostatistics will be an Action item at the April Senate meeting. The Graduate School of Business is an information item only as it is a non academic proposal.

• Intercollegiate Athletics Update Jill Varnes, Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Varnes presented data on the state of athletics at the university. UF athletes have a 92 percent graduation rate; the national average is 77 percent. The average GPA of UF athletes for the fall semester was 3.05.

Danaya Wright, Chair

Janie Fouke, Provost

Ken Gerhardt, Interim Dean Graduate School

 University Curriculum Committee Sheila Dickison, Curriculum Committee Chair Discontinuation of the CIS Major within the BSBA Program, College of Business

Dr. Dickison presented this item as information. It will be an action item in April. This is a proposal to discontinue the Computer Information Sciences major within the BSBA program in the College of Business. The College feels the students will be better served by enrolling in the Decision and Information Sciences major.

• **Baby Gator** Pam Pallas, Director Baby Gator Ms. Pallas discussed Baby Gator's history, mission and facilities, which are available to faculty, staff and students. The presentation also reviewed the discrepancies in the need for Baby Gator vs. the available capacity. Ms. Pallas outlined future aspirations for increasing Baby Gator's facilities and requested the development of a joint task force to address a plan for care and early education of children of current and future UF faculty.

• Faculty Budget Resolution Frank Bova, Budget Council Chair Frank Bova presented a budget resolution to develop unit level budget committees to empower faculty to address budget issues at the local level. Joe Little suggested modifying the language to state that units shall have the power to establish a procedure rather than directing them to do so in a particular format.

- Committee on Committees Recommendations
 John Leavey, COC chair
 - o Student Memberships

• University Curriculum Committee and General Education Committee John Leavey presented two recommendations on behalf of the Committee on Committees. The first is to include nonvoting student members on the policy councils (1 each), the Curriculum Committee (3) and the General Education committee (2). The second is to change the membership structure of the General Education committee and the University Curriculum committee in order to increase faculty participation on these committees.

Action Items:

Sustainability Focus the Nation Resolution

Eva Czarnecka-Verner, Chair Sustainability Committee The Sustainability Focus the Nation Resolution was approved with a vote of 36-34.

Honorary Degrees Committee Recommendations

Saeed Khan, Honorary Degrees Committee Chair The Honorary Degree candidates Hines and Barish were approved. The Honorary Degree candidate Bush was not approved with a vote of 38-28.

Discussion from Floor:

There was not a discussion from the floor and the meeting adjourned at 5:08 PM

Attending Senators:

Chunrong Ai Janaki Alavalapati David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Frank Bova Jesse Boyles Kenneth Broadway Jane Brockmann Pamela Brown Same Brown Regina Bures Judy Butterfield Dale Campbell Margaret Carr Jacob Chung Phillip Clark Winfred Cooke Elizabeth Creveling Oscar Crisalle Harry Daniels Mark Davis Laura Ellis Mary Ann Ferguson Joanne Foss Thomas Foster Stephen Futch Maria Gallo Geroge Gerencser Malay Ghosh Pete Giacobbi Ellis Greiner Cynthia Griffin Dave Hackett Steve Hagen Marc Hoit Alice Holmes Marjorie Hoy Rebecca Jordi Henry Jowers William Kem Saeed Khan James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar Gail Kunkle Jodi Lane John Leavey Robyn LeBoeuf Christy Lemak Jenshan Lin William Lindberg

Joseph Little Joseli Macedo Robert McGovern Gloria Miller Jacqueline Miller Stephen Mulkey Satya Narayan June Nogle Sven Norman Scott Nygren Yngve Ohrn Susan Percieval Joe Pergola Kathleen Price David Quillen Ron Randles Roger Reep Rolf Renne Leah Rosenberg Bhavani Sankar Nancy Schaefer **Richard Segal** James Selph Orit Shechtman Pierre Kikivie Sharleen Simpson Chris Snodgrass Anita Spring Craid Stanley Taylor Stein Lewis Sussman Robert Thomas Pham Tiep Jseph Unruh Eric Wachsman Kim Walsh-Childers Bryan Weber Brenda Williams Judith Williams Patricia Woods Danava Wright Allen Wysocki Rick Yost Naomi Young Barbara Zsembik

Ex officio students:

EJ Walicki Andrew John

Ex officio: Janie Fouke

Robert Frank Ken Gerhardt Carol Kem Pramod Khargonekar Lucinda Lavelli Rebecca Pauly Kim Tanzer

Guests:

Yooni Yi Ryan Moseley Susan Kelly Brooke Burn Sharon Treen Kim Fulscher Jim Davis Celia Hill Cindy Sanders Larry Halsey Joan Bradshaw Nancy Moores Donna Peacock David Holmes Bill Schall Gary England Mike Swent Barbara Yryhev Mary Salisbury Maisie Ross Nancy Gal ZM Esel Rohn K Selcuk Erenguc Pamela Pallas Anita Neal Ramon Littell Wendy Wilbern Jim DeValerio Nola Vilson Mike Daniels Albert Mate Elena Anderson Wesley Nina Lamma Alesade Stephen Itaason Angel Kwolek-Folland Eva Czernecka-Verner Jessica Sullivan