Senate Minutes February 15, 2007 3:00 - 5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:04 PM.
The minutes of the January 18, 2006 meeting were approved.

Reports:

Chair's Report

Dr. Wright reported that the April Senate meeting will be in the Constans Theater. The nominating committee is still accepting nominations for committees and councils. The chair elect nomination period opened today and will close on March 1. Chair statements are due March 31 and the chair elect will be elected at the April Senate meeting. A graduate student forum will be held on April 4 and the Graduate Student Council is looking for faculty members to lead a roundtable discussion on balancing research, teaching and service.

President's Report

The BOG commissioned Pappas Report is available on the Senate Web site. The governor proposed no new increases in undergraduate in-state tuition. The BOG and the BOT can still set out of state and graduate and professional tuition. The Climate Survey is now available online. Dr. Machen reviewed admissions figures for African American students (increased 19 percent over the past year) and Hispanic students (increased 27 percent over the past year). Dr. Machen is seeking input from the UCC and students on the minus grades plan.

The administration is looking into ways to increase minority faculty numbers at UF.

Information Items:

County Extension Agents

Dr. Pauly presented an information item proposing a three year pilot program for reviewing county extension agent tenure and promotion packets. The proposed pilot program would have the county extension agent packets bypass the APB on their way to the President.

Sustainability Committee Report and Resolution

Eva Czarnecka-Verner presented information on the Sustainability committee's initiatives. The Provost will be offering mini-grants in sustainability and the committee is working to implement certificates in sustainability.

The Sustainability committee would like the university to sign onto the Focus the Nation initiative to help stop global warming. Dr. Machen has already signed onto the project. Dr. Czarnecka-Verner presented a resolution in support of the Focus the Nation initiative.

Proposed Regulations Changes

Tim Taylor presented proposed regulation changes with the constitution Committee's recommendations on those changes. The regulations will be posted for public comment beginning on February 27, 2007.

Action Items:

Resolution on the Academic Enhancement Program

The AEP resolution passed unanimously.

Graduate Council Items

Migration of Nutritional Sciences concentration to PhD in Nutritional Sciences The degree proposal passed unanimously.

Discussion from Floor:

Amer Abu-Hanna

Robert Adelson

Paul Blaser

Linda Bloom

Malay Ghosh

Janaki Alavalapati

David Bloomquist

Three minutes per speaker. The floor is open to Senators first.

The meeting adjourned at 4:24 PM.

Marc Hoit Attendees:

Alice Holmes Forrest Howard Marjorie Hoy Henry Jowers William Kem James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Kenneth Broadway Pradeep Kumar Iodi Lane

Pamela Brown William Buhi John Leavey Regina bures Robyn LeBoeuf Regina Bussing Christy Lemak **Judy Butterfiled** Jenshan Lin Dale Campbell Joseph Little Bill Chen Henrietta Logan Joseli Macedo Jacob Chung John Cisar Cathleen Martyniak Jack Mecholsky

Phillip Clark Chris Cogle Bayard Miller Winfred Cooke Jacqueline Miller Elizabeth Creveling Bill Montgomery Oscar Crisale Stephen Mulkey Carol Murphy Harry Daniels Laura Ellis Satya Narayan June Nogle Mary Ann Ferguson Elizabeth Frazier Sven Norma Stephen Futch Yngve Ohrn Maria Gallo Joe Pergola Geroge Gerencser David Quillen

Martin Gold Roger Reep Paul Goldstein Rolf Renne Ellis Greiner Jaquelyn Resnick Cynthia Griffin Leah Rosenberg Nancy Schaefer Steve Hagen

Ron Randles

Richard Segal James Selph

Pierre Sikivie

Wesley Smith

Stephen Smith

Chris Snodgrass

Taylor Stein

Lewis Sussman

Jim Taylor

Robert Thomas

Pham Tiep

Thomas Vickroy

Susan Webb

Bryan Weber

Brenda Williams

Steven Willis

Danaya Wright

Rick Yost

Naomi Young

Barbara Zsembik

Ex officio

Janie Fouke

Carol Kem

Bernie Machen

Rebecca Pauly

Kim Tanzer

Tim Taylor

Student Senators

Lindsey Collins

Guests

Guigin Ye

Hong Fang Su

Lawrence Alexander

Elaine Turner

Eva Czarnecka-Verner

Jackie Ayers

Nan Bin