Senate Minutes December 14, 2006 3:00 - 5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 PM

The minutes of the November 16, 2006 minutes were approved.

Reports:

Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

Danaya Wright reported that nominations for committees will open in January and elections will be held in April. Dr. Wright also noted that she is beginning to look into ways to increase student involvement on committees and councils. The Alligator has created an ombudsman position.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

Dr. Machen reported that the early admissions acceptance letters have been distributed. Dr. Machen also reported that there was a 60 percent improvement in correspondence between faculty and textbook stores for textbook adoptions and a 75 percent increase in correspondence this fall. Drop/add will be extended in the spring to allow students extra time because the championship football game is on the first day of the spring term. The O'Connell center will be available for students, faculty and staff to watch the game. The gates will open at 6:30 PM. Dr. Machen reported that 3,000 students have already signed up for GatorGradCare. The GatorGradCare will begin in January 2007. The Board of Trustees and the Board of Governors has approved the proposal to establish the Academic Enrichment Program to provide 500 faculty members and 100 advisors. The proposal needs to be approved by the State Legislature. Ongoing searches include a search for a dean of the Graduate School, dean of the College of Medicine, and a dean of the Libraries. The Future of the Libraries committee submitted a report which is available on the Provost's Web site. Please send comments to the Provost.

Information Items:

Provost Budget Allocation Committee

Bob Jerry, Chair Budget Allocation Committee Dean Jerry presented a report from the Provost Budget Allocation Committee. The committee's Web site is www.aa.ufl.edu/pbac. The committee is not looking into individual college budgets, rather it is looking at budget allocation models for the entire University.

Alternative Transportation

Allen Preston Physical Plant

There was not a report on alternative transportation.

- **Dispute Resolution Officer Recommendations** Marc Heft, Chair AFTPRSC Marc Heft presented the Dispute Resolution Officer recommendations. This item will be an action item in January.
 - Honorary Degrees Recommendations

John Leavey, Committee on Committees Chair

John Leavey presented the Committee on Committees recommendations for the honorary degrees committee. This item will be an action item in January. <u>Correction: This item will not be presented as an action item in January. The item will be sent back to the Honorary Degrees Committee for input after the President has given input on the recommendations.</u>

Graduate Council Items Ken Gerhardt, Interim Dean Graduate School

o Proposal to sunset three degrees 1. the Master of Civil Engineering with a major in Civil Engineering 2. the Engineer degree with a major in Civil Engineering 3. the Engineer degree with a major in Costal and Oceanographic Engineering

Ken Gerhardt presented these sunset proposals from the College of Engineering. These items will be presented as an action item in January.

Action Items:

- **Graduate Council Items** Ken Gerhardt, Interim Dean Graduate School
 - o Proposal to move the concentration Entrepreneurship under the Master of Science with a major in Business Administration to a Master of Science with a major in Entrepreneurship
 - Proposal to sunset the International Relations PhD program in the Political Science Department

Both items were approved.

Constitution Items

Tim Taylor, Constitution Committee Chair

Nominating Committee Language

The nominating committee language was approved.

Compensation Committee Language

Eric Wachsman moved to amend the presented compensation committee language. The motion to amend the language was approved. The Senate will vote on the amended language in January.

Minus Grades Recommendations

Anita Spring, Academic Policy Council Chair

Anita Spring presented a minus grades resolution from the Academic Policy Council. The resolution passed with only 15 opposing votes. The resolution will be forwarded to the President for approval. The resolution states that:

The Faculty Senate approves the adoption of minus grades with the following symmetric configuration:

- 4.00 grade points `A
- 3.67 grade points Α-
- B+3.33 grade points
- 3.00 grade points В
- B-2.67 grade points
- C+ 2.33 grade points
- C 2.00 grade points
- C-
- 1.67 grade points D+
- 1.33 grade points
- D 1.00 grade points
- 0.67 grade points D-
- F 0.00 grade points

The proposed start date is summer 2007 or January 2008 and transcripts will note the change in grading scale. Faculty members have academic freedom to use plus and/or minus grades.

Attendees:

Amer Abu-Hanna Robert Adelson Janaki Alavalapati Paul Blaser Linda Bloom David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Frank Bova Jane Brockman Pamela Brown Sam Brown Regina Bures Judy Butterfield Margaret Carr Bill Chen Phillip Clark Chris Cogle Oscar Crisalle Jerry Cutler Philipp Dahm Harry Daniels Mark Davis Timothy Davis

Mary Ann Ferguson

Laura Ellis

Tim Flynn Thomas Foster Elizabeth Frazier Stephen Futch George Gerencser Paul Goldstein Ellis Greiner Steve Hagen Marc Heft Marc Hoit Alice Holmes Saeed Khan James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar John Leavey Robyn LeBoeuf Christy Lemak William Lindberg Henrietta Logan Joseli Macedo

Cathleen Martyniak

William McArthur Robert McGovern Jack Mecholsky Bill Montgomery Carol Murphy June Nogle Sven Norman Scott Nygren Mark Orazem Susan Percival Joe Pergola Steven Perz Kathleen Price David Quillen Ron Randles Roger Reep Renne Rolf Leah Rosenberg Nancy Schaefer James Selph Orit Shechtman Pierre Sikivie Wesley Smith Stephen Smith Chris Snodgrass Anita Spring Craig Stanley Taylor Stein Robert Thomas Thomas Vickroy

Ex officio attendees:

Eric Wachsman

Brenda Williams Iudith Williams

Patricia Woods

Danaya Wright

Allen Wysocki

Naomi Young

Rick Yost

Bryan Weber

Ken Gerhardt Robert Jerry Carol Kem Pramod Khargonekar Rebecca Pauly Tim Taylor

Guests:

Yooni Yi Yumiko Hulvey Ido Oren William McCollough Lyle Brenner