# **Senate Minutes** January 18, 2007 3:00 - 5:00 P.M. **Reitz Union Auditorium**

The meeting was called to order at 3:05 PM

The minutes of the December 14, 2006 meeting were approved.

#### Chair's Report

Danaya Wright reported that council and committee nominations are open and will close on January 26<sup>th</sup>. Chair elect nominations will open in February and essays will be due in March. Dr. Wright also reported that each college was mailed information on Senator elections and that each college should have established a nominating committee. A request was forwarded to the President for approval of the minus grades resolution. The smoking ban will be expanded to all buildings on the main campus. The smoking ban prohibits smoking within 50 feet of entry ways to buildings. An ombudsperson was appointed at the alligator. Please talk to the ombudsperson if you have issues with the Alligator. There will be a resolution on the Academic Enhancement Program at the February Senate meeting.

#### President's Report

Dr. Machen presented information on undergraduate admissions. The number of students enrolled has been relatively stable over the past few years. The University is considering revising the process for early decision admissions. Currently, students who are not admitted in early admissions are eliminated from further consideration. The University's concern is that by not admitting some early admissions candidates, they may be losing candidates as good as or better than those admitted during the regular admissions cycle. The revised process would allow accepted applications to rollover to be considered in the regular cycles. This issue will be discussed with the Presidential student committee. If you have ideas or suggestions for this process please send them to Dr. Machen or Dr. Fouke. There are several ongoing searches so please be involved in those searches.

GatorGradCare started in January and there are over 3,600 students enrolled. Priorities for this legislative session are compensation for faculty and staff, a request for equity funding, funding for the graduate student healthcare and the Academic Enrichment Program. The Academic Enrichment Program would fund 200 new faculty members and 100 academic counselors.

## Information Items:

- Alternative Transportation Allan Preston, Physical Plant Allan Preston discussed various alternative transportation options on campus including the UF taxi service and the Flexcar program. (see PowerPoint presentation in this month's agenda)
- **Campus Information Technology Update** Marc Hoit, Interim CIO Marc Hoit discussed various Information Technology infrastructure updates. (see PowerPoint presentation in this month's agenda)
- **Graduate Council Items** Ken Gerhardt, Interim Dean Graduate School Migration of Nutritional Sciences concentration to PhD in Nutritional Sciences Ken Gerhardt presented an item as information from the Graduate Council. This item will be an action item in February.

#### Danaya Wright, Chair

Bernie Machen, President

### Action Items:

•

Graduate Council Items
Ken Gerhardt, Interim Dean Graduate School
Proposal to sunset three degrees 1. the Master of Civil Engineering with a major in Civil Engineering 2. the Engineer degree with a major in Civil Engineering 3. the Engineer degree with a major in Costal and Oceanographic Engineering

Ken Gerhardt presented an item from the Graduate council for action. The item was approved.

Constitution Items
Tim Taylor, Constitution Committee Chair
Compensation Committee Language

The compensation committee language, as amended by Eric Wachsman, was approved.

• **Dispute Resolution Officer Recommendations** Marc Heft, Chair AFTPRSC Marc Heft presented the DRO recommendations on behalf of the Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations and Standards Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:38 P.M.

# Attendees:

Chunrong Ai Joe Aufmuth MaryLou Behnke David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Frank Bova Kenneth Broadway Jane Brockmann Pamela Brown Sam Brown Regina Bussing Margaret Carr Bill Chen Kenny Cheng Jacob Chung John Cisar Phillip Clark Winfred Cooke Elizabeth Creveling Oscar Crisalle Jerry Cutler Harry Daniels Timothy Davis Julie Dodd Laura Ellis Ioanne Foss Thomas Foster Elizabeth Frazier

Stephen Futch George Gerencser Malay Ghosh Pete Giaccobi Paul Goldstein Elis Greiner Cynthia Griffin Dave Hackett Steve Hagen Marc Heft Marc Hoit Alice Holmes Forrest Howard Marjorie Hoy Henry Jowers William Kem Saeed Khan Praddep Kumar Gail Kunkle Jodi Lane John Leavey Robyn LeBoeuf Jenshan Lin William Lindberg Joseph Little Henrietta Logan Joseli Macedo Jack Mecholsky **Bayard Miller** Gloria Moore Jacqueline Miller Stephen Mulkey Carol Murphy

Satya Narayan Sven Norman Scott Nygren Mark Orazem Joe Pergola Steven Perz Kathleen Price Ron Randles Roger Reep Jaquelyn Resnick Leah Rosenberg Nancy Schaefer Richard Segal James Selph Orit Shechtman Stephen Smith Chris Snodgrass Anita Spring Lewis Sussman Jim Taylor Robert Thomas Pham Tiep Eric Wachsman Kim Walsh-Childers Bryan Weber Brenda Williams Steven Willis Danaya Wright Allen Wysocki Rick Yost Barbara Zsembik

### Ex Officio:

Janie Fouke Ken Gerhardt Pramod Khargonekar Bernie Machen Rebecca Pauly Kim Tanzer Tim Taylor

#### **Student Senators:**

EJ Walicki Ranaldo Allen Lindsey Collins Andrew John

#### **Guests:**

Yumiko Hulvey Elaine Turner Allan Preston