Senate Minutes April 19, 2007 3:00 - 5:00 P.M. Constans Theater

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 PM

The minutes of the March 22, 2007 minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

Danaya Wright reported that the Honorary Degrees Committee met with the President, Provost, General Counsel and the Chair of the Committee on Committees to look at ways to maintain faculty participation, improve the process and maintain confidentiality. No decisions have been made yet. The Senate will be consulted once a proposal has been finalized. Senate elections have ended and more faculty need to vote. Concern was expressed regarding conversations on the Senate listserv after the April meeting. The steering Committee is discussing possible alternatives for discussion and is working with the general counsel to find ways to allow for better communication of ideas between meetings. The Student Senate passed a referendum favoring a fifty cent per credit hour energy efficiency fee. The Senate was asked to endorse this fee, but the steering committee felt that this decision was not up to the Senate to decide. There is language in the current proposed regulations to change the college promotion and tenure committees. The current language states that the committees must be composed of tenured full professors.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

The president discussed the current legislative session and the academic enhancement program's progress through the legislature. Dr. Machen also stated that the University Police Department has been looking at ways to upgrade security after the Virginia Tech incident. All concerns about the textbook bill should be sent to the President so that our representatives in Tallahassee can be notified of the concerns.

Chair Elect Presentations and Election 1st ballot

Frank Boya was elected Chair Elect

Information Items:

- Regulations Report Tim Taylor, Constitution Committee Chair Tim Taylor presented the Constitution Committee's report regarding proposed regulation changes.
- Nominating Committee Report Carol Kem, Chair Nominating Committee Carol Kem presented the nominating committee's report on Committee and Council elections.
- Announcement of New Senators
 Danaya Wright presented the results of the Senator elections.
- Strategic Work Plan Anita Spring, Chair Academic Policy Council Anita Spring provided an update on the Strategic Work Plan. The APC revised the document to correct typos and grammar. The document will be presented to the BOT in June. The Plan is to review the document on a regular basis through the APC. The APC will look at priorities and develop a system to address priorities and add new priorities.
- Graduate council item

Laurence Alexander, Interim Associate Dean Graduate School PhD in Epidemiology, College of Public Health and Health Professions Laurence Alexander presented the proposal for a PhD in Epidemiology. Rich Segal moved the item to action. The proposal was approved.

Action Items:

Graduate council item

Laurence Alexander, Interim Associate Dean Graduate School

PhD in Biostatistics

The proposal for a PhD in Biostatics was approved.

 University Curriculum Committee Sheila Dickison, Curriculum Committee Chair Discontinuation of the CIS Major within the BSBA Program, College of Business

The proposal for the discontinuation of the CIS major was approved.

■ Faculty Budget Resolution

Frank Bova, Budget Council Chair

The Faculty Budget Resolution was approved.

- Committee on Committees Recommendations
- John Leavey, COC chair

- o Student Memberships
- o University Curriculum Committee and General Education Committee

Bryan Weber proposed an amendment to the recommendation. The motion to amend the proposal failed. The original motion was approved. The recommendations will be sent to the constitution committee for language.

Discussion from Floor:

Three minutes per speaker. The floor is open to Senators first.

Performance by the Florida MOD Project and Gator Tones followed by a reception in the Lower Lobby

Senators: Amer Abu-Hanna Chunrong Ai Janaki Alavalapati Joe Aufmuth MaryLou Behnke Linda Bloom David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Frank Bova Jesse boyles Jane Brockmann Pamela Brown Sam Brown William Buhi Regina Bussing Judy Butterfield Margaret Carr Bill Chen Kenny Cheng

Jacob Chung

Phillip Clark
Chris Cogle
Roxanne Connelly
Winfred Cooke
Elizabeth Creveling
Oscar Crisalle
Jerry Cutler
Harry Daniels
Mark Davis
Timothy Davis

John Cisar

Laura Eillis Mary Ann Ferguson

Tim Flynn
Thomas Foster
Elizabeth Frazier
Stephen Futch
George Gerencser
Pete Giaccobi
Martin Gold
Ellis Greiner

Dave Hackett Marc Heft Marc Hoit Forrest Howard Rebecca Jordi Henry Jowers William Kem Saeed Khan James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar John Leavey Robyn LeBoeuf Christy Lemak William Lindberg Joseph Little Henrietta Logan Joseli Macedo William McArthur Jack Mechlosky Bayard Miller Gloria Miller Jacqueline Miller Bill Montgomery Carol Murphy Sven Norman Scott Nygren Yngve Ohrn Mark Orazem Susan Percival Joe Pergola Steven Perz Kathleen Price Ron Randles Roger Reep Rolf Renne Jaquelyn Resnick Leah Rosenberg Bhavani Sankar Nancy Schaefer Richard Segal James Selph Orit Shechtman Pierre Sikivie Sharleen Simpson Wesley Smith Chris Snodgrass Anita Spring

Craig Stanley
Taylor Stein
Jim Taylor
Robert Thomas
Joseph Unruh
Thomas Vickroy
Kim Walsh-Childers

Susan Webb Bryan Weber Brenda Williams Judith Williams Patricia Woods Danaya Wright Rick Yost Naomi Young Barbara Zsembik

Student Senators:

Lindsey Collins Yooni Yi for John Boyles

Ex officio:

Janie Fouke Robert Frank Carol Kem Lucinda Lavelli Bernie Machen Kim Tanzer Tim Taylor

Guests:

Laurence Datnoff
Margaret Temple Smith
Sara Traylor
Stephen Hanson
Greg Shark
Elena Anderson
Mark Daniels
Linda Young
Mike Sweat
Jackie Ayers
Pierre Ramond
Laurence Alexander