Faculty Senate Minutes October 19, 2006 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:01 P.M.

The September 21, 2006 minutes were approved

Reports:

Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

Dr. Wright announced that the November Senate meeting has been rescheduled to November 16th and will be held in room C1-7 in the Health Science Center. She also reminded Senators to please use the Senate Web site to check meeting times and locations. Dr. Wright also notified the Senate that a committee has been established to review the student conduct code. The NCAA site committee recently reviewed UF and the extent of faculty support for procedures for academic credentialing and support of student athletes. The October issue of Academics will focus on faculty development, human resources, minority information and support for faculty. Dr. Wright also reported on council activities and noted that the Academic Policy Council will meet with the President to develop procedures for revising the strategic work plan and the Welfare council will revise the climate survey to include questions about shared governance at the local level and faculty development. There were not enough faculty members at the shared governance workshop. There will be another workshop in January or February. Dr. Wright stressed the importance of faculty participation in these workshops. Dr. Wright also reported that she met with a consultant who is working with the future of the libraries committee.

Provost's Report

Janie Fouke, Provost

Dr. Fouke updated the Senate on closed and on-going searches. Recent hires include: a dean of HHP, Fine Arts, DCP, Vet Med, and Directors of Admissions and Institutional Research. On going searches include: Dean of Med School, Dean of Grad School, Dean of Libraries, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs, Dean of Journalism and Communications. Dr. Fouke also reported on the status of the library committee and the budget reallocation committee. Fall undergraduate enrollment is the smallest it has been in five or six years; while fall graduate enrollment is the highest it has ever been. Dr. Fouke also updated the Senate on recent construction projects. The University of Florida is lobbying to obtain control over tuition.

Information Items:

Library Task Force

Will Harrison, Chair Library Task Force

Dr. Harrison updated the Senate on the activities of the future of the libraries committee. The Provost appointed the committee in the fall and the members have met as a committee and in sub committees. Dr. Harrison reported that there has not been a recent review of the

libraries and that the committee has five sub committees to do a comparative analysis of our libraries to peer libraries, balance electronic and print collections, opportunities for the library in the capital campaign, review the mission of the library, and review integration of UF libraries. The committee's goal is to report by the end of the semester and provide the Provost with a draft of the committee's recommendations.

- Inside UF Joy Rodgers, Internal Communications Coordinator Ms. Rodgers explained that her role as internal communications coordinator is to develop and implement internal communications programs to improve support of campus wide communications. Inside UF is the first initiative to communicate with faculty, staff and students. Inside UF features profiles on faculty members, stories about programs and announcements. Ms. Rodgers encourages your submissions for the publication. The Office of University Relations will evaluate InsideUF in December to determine what changes should be made for the Spring publications.
 - Name Change: Department of Decision and Information Sciences to the Department of Information Systems and Operations Management from the Curriculum Committee

Sheila Dickison, Curriculum Committee Chair

Dr. Dickison presented an information item regarding a departmental name change. This item will be presented as an action item at the November meeting.

Action Items:

- Curriculum Committee
 Sheila Dickison, Curriculum Committee Chair
 - o Engineering Joint Degree Program

Dr. Dickison presented an Engineering joint degree program for approval. The degree program was approved.

- Nominating Committee Structure John Leavey, Chair Committee on Committees Dr. Leavey presented an action item to the Senate regarding the nominating committee structure. The Committee on Committees recommends changing the nominating committee structure from 4 elected faculty members to 6 elected faculty members. The structure change was approved. The item will come forward with constitutional language as an information item at the November meeting.
 - Constitution items

Tim Taylor, Constitution Committee Chair

- o Temporary Senator Replacement Policy Senate Bylaw 4 E 2 (e)
- o Absence policy for councils and committees Constitution Article IV Section 2
- o Senate Secretary Constitution Article IV Section 3

The constitution committee presented three items for approval. Scott Nygren moved to amend Bylaw 4 E 2 (e) by removing the sentence, "Therefore, acceptance of appointment to a position carrying ex officio senate membership constitutes resignation from one's elected senate seat" to avoid redundancy with the preceding sentence.

The motion to amend the language was approved.

All three proposals were approved.

 CLAS 5 year plan: Shared Governance, Academic Policies and Alignment of Budget and Strategic Work Plan Discussion
 Danaya Wright, Chair

The Senate discussed the CLAS 5 year plan resolution. The Senate voted on each of the resolution bullet points separately All three points were approved.

Open Discussion from Floor of Senate:

There were no persons interested in an open discussion.

The meeting adjourned at 4:50 P.M.

Attendees: Robert Adelson Janaki Alavalapati Alex Alberro Joe Aufmuth Marvlou Behnke Paul Blaser Linda Bloom David Bloomquist Elizabeth Bolton Frank Bova Jane Brockmann Sam Brown William Buhi Regina Bures Regina Bussing Dale Campbell Bill Chen **Jacob Chung** Phillip Clark Chris Cogle Roxanne Connelly Winfred Cooke Oscar Crisalle Jerry Cutler Harry Daniels Mark Davis Timothy Davis Julie Dodd Laura Ellis Mary Ann Ferguson Thomas Foster Elizabeth Frazier Stephen Futch Maria Gallo Orit Shechtman George Gerencser Steve Ghivizzani Pete Giacobbi Paul Goldstein

Jesse Gregory

Ellis Greiner Cynthia Griffin Marc Heft Marc Hoit Forrest Howard Marjorie Hov William Kem James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Pradeep Kumar Jodi Lane John Leavey Christy Lemak Jenshan Lin Joseph Little Joseli Macedo Cathleen Martyniak William McArthur Robert McGovern Jacqueline Miller Bill Montgomery Gloria Moore Satya Narayan Scott Nygren Yngve Ohrn Mark Orazem Joe Pergola Kathleen Price Ron Randles Roger Reep Rolf Reene Jaquelyn Resnick Bhavani Sankar Nancy Schaefer James Selph

Sharleen Simpson

Wesley Smith

Stephen Smith Chris Snodgrass Anita Spring

Craig Stanley

Lewis Sussman

Jim Taylor

Saundra TenBroeck

Pham Tiep

Thomas Vickroy

Eric Wachsman

Kim Walsh-Childers

Susan Webb

Bryan Weber

Juidth Williams

Danaya Wright

Allen Wysocki

Rick Yost

Naomi Young

Robert Zlotecki

Ex-Officio:

Janie Fouke

Carol Kem

Pramod Khargonekar

Rebecca Pauly

Kim Tanzer

Tim Taylor

Barbara Wingo

Student Senators:

EJ Walicki

Josh Weiss

John Boyles

Ranaldo Allen

Andrew Jenkins

John Andrew

Lou Delgato

Mark Dunbar

Guests:

Yooni Yi

J Brukr

Gene Zdziarski

Will Harrison

Kenneth Kid

Yumiko Hulvey

Mauren Turim