# Faculty Senate Minutes November 16, 2006 3:00 -5:00 P.M.

## C1-7 Communicore Building

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 P.M.

The October 19, 2006 minutes were approved

## Reports:

## Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

Dr. Wright reported on a few items that should be ready for information items in December including the Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations and Standards Committee resolution regarding a Dispute Resolutions Officer and timeline for filing grievances. The Academic Policy Council also is working to create a policy for revisions to the strategic plan. Dr. Wright also reported that the Welfare council has reviewed the climate survey which will be distributed in January or February 2007 and announced the follow up workshop on Shared Governance that is scheduled for January.

## **Information Items:**

- Graduate Council Items
- Ken Gerhardt, Interim Dean Graduate School
- O Proposal to move the concentration Entrepreneurship under the Master of Science with a major in Business Administration to a Master of Science with a major in Entrepreneurship
- o Proposal to sunset the International Relations PhD program in the Political Science Department

Laurence Alexander presented these items on behalf of Dr. Gerhardt. Both items will be presented as action items in December.

#### Constitution Items

Tim Taylor, Chair Constitution Committee

Compensation Committee Language

Nominating Committee Language

Dr. Taylor presented the constitution committee items as information. They will be action items in December.

Dr. Taylor noted that the compensation committee language was created using the information provided to them by the Committee on Committees. The COC asked the Senate for feedback regarding the committee structure in the Spring of 2006.

#### Minus Grades Recommendations

Carol Murphy, Academic Policy Council Member

Dr. Murphy presented the Academic Policy Council's minus grades recommendations. If implemented, the minus grades will take three months to implement, allowing time for a programmer to change the current grading system. The start date is recommended to start at the beginning of an academic year and will apply to students in all classes. This start date will be noted on students' transcripts. Previous GPA's would not be readjusted. The APC did

not consider dropping the plus grade. Dr. Murphy reviewed the surveys of UF Colleges, UF's peer institutions and the SUS schools. Dr. Murphy also noted that the previous report by the University Curriculum Committee was in response to a request for an A+ and did not make recommendations regarding minus grades. Senators asked questions about grade inflation and minus grades. More information will be available before the next Senate meeting.

## **Action Items:**

Bill Chen

Stephen Futch

Name Change: Department of Decision and Information Sciences to the Department of Information Systems and Operations Management from the **Curriculum Committee** 

Sheila Dickison, Curriculum Committee Chair

William McArthur

Laurence Alexander presented this action item on behalf of Dr. Dickison. The item was approved.

## **Open Discussion from Floor of Senate:**

There were no persons interested in an open discussion.

The meeting adjourned at 3:29 P.M.

Attendees: George Gerencser

Martin Gold Ellis Greiner Chunrong Ai Janaki Alavalapati Cynthia Griffin MaryLou Behnke Steve Hagen Paul Blaser Alice Holmes Linda Bloom James Klausner David Bloomquist Shawn Kneipp Elizabeth Bolton Gail Kunkle Frank Bova John Leavey Jesse Boyles Christy Lemak Amer Ago Hanna Jenshan Lin William Buhi Joseph Little Regina Bussing Henrietta Logan Judy Butterfield Joseli Macedo Margaret Carr Cathleen Martyniak

Robert McGovern **Jacob Chung** Patrick Colahan Jack Mecholsky Bayard Miller Maureen Conroy Winfred Cooke Jacqueline Miller Jerry Cutler Stephen Mulkey Mark Davis Carol Murphy Laura Ellis Satya Narayan June Nogle Mary Ann Ferguson Joanne Foss Scott Nygren Susan Percival

Joe Pergola Kathleen Price David Quillen Jaquelyn Resnick Richard Segal James Selph Orit Shechtman Sharleen Simpson Wesley Smith Taylor Stein Lewis Sussman Jim Taylor Saundra TenBroeck Pham Tiep Thomas Vickroy Eric Wachsman Kim Walsh-Childers Susan Web Danaya Wright Robert Zlotecki Barbara Zsembik

## Ex officio attendees:

Ken Gerhardt Carol Kem Rebecca Pauly Kim Tanzer Tim Taylor John Wright

## **Student Senators:**

Lou Delgato EJ Walicki Lindsey Collins Andrew John

## **Guests:**

Yooni Yi Yumiko Hulvey Laurence Alexander William McCollough Asou Vakliaria Ido Oren Jett Esczm