Faculty Senate Minutes September 21, 2006 3:00 -5:00 P.M. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The minutes of the April 20, 2006 and August 24, 2006 minutes were approved

Reports:

Chair's Report

Danaya Wright, Chair

Dr. Wright informed the Senate that elections for the research policy committee, the land use committee vacancy and the compensation committee will open on Monday. Nominations were opened on the floor and no new nominations were submitted. Dr. Wright reminded senators to submit nominations for the new ad-hoc task forces. The September issue of Academics was published today. Dr. Wright also announced the education celebration to honor distinguished faculty at UF.

Information Items:

Constitution items

- Tim Taylor, Constitution Committee Chair
- o Temporary Senator Replacement Policy Senate Bylaw 4 E 2 (e)
- o Absence policy for councils and committees Constitution Article IV Section 2
- o Senate Secretary Constitution Article IV Section 3

Tim Taylor presented these constitution items. They will be action items at the October Senate meeting.

- Curriculum Committee
- Sheila Dickison, Curriculum Committee Chair
- o Engineering Joint Degree Program

Sheila Dickison presented the engineering joint degree program proposal. The proposal will be an action item at the October Senate meeting.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

Dr. Machen outlined the letter he sent to Senators regarding the CLAS 5 year plan and addressed questions about the plan.

 CLAS 5 year plan: Shared Governance, Academic Policies and Alignment of Budget and Strategic Work Plan Discussion
 Danaya Wright, Chair

Dr. Wright presented the resolution regarding the CLAS 5 year plan. There was a motion to move the item to action. The motion did not pass.

Open Discussion from Floor of Senate:

Three minute limit per speaker, floor will be open to Senators first

The floor was open for comment.

The meeting adjourned at 4:35 PM.

George Gerencser Steve Ghivizzani Attendees:

Pete Giacobbi Janaki Alavalapati Martin Gold

Alex Albero Paul Goldstein Joe Aufmuth Ellis Greiner Cynthia Griffin MaryLou Behnke

Paul Blaser Dave Hackett Linda Bloom Steve Hagen David Bloomquist Marc Heft

Elizabeth Bolton Marc Hoit Frank Bova Alice Holmes Jesse Boyles Forrest Howard

Jane Brockmann Marjorie Hoy Henry Jowers Sam Brown William Buhi William Kem

Regina Bussing Saeed Khan Judy Butterfield James Klausner Dale Campbell Shawn Kneipp Margaret Carr Pradeep Kumar

Bill Chen Gial Kunkle Jacob Chung Jodi Lane Phillip Clark John Leavey

Chris Cogle Jenshan Lin Patrick Colahan William Lindberg Maureen Conroy Joseph Little

Winfred Cooke Henrietta Logan Oscar Crisalle Joseli Macedo Cathleen Martyniak Jerry Cutler

Mark Davis William McArthur Timothy Davis Jack Mecholsky Julie Dodd Bayard Miller Laura Ellis Jacqueline Miller

Mary Ann Ferugson Gloria Moore Tim Flynn Carol Murphy Thomas Foster Andy Naranjo Joanne Foss Satya Narayan Elizabeth Frazier June Nogle

Stephen Futch Sven Norman

Maria Gallo Scott Nygren

Yngve Ohrn Mark Orazem Rebecca Pauly Susan Percival Joe Pergola David Quillen Ron Randles Roger Reep Jaquelyn Resnick Leah Rosenberg Bhavani Sankar Nancy Schaefer Richard Segal James Selph Orit Shechtman Pierre Sikivie Sharleen Simpson Wesley Smith Stephen Smith Chris Snodgrass Anita Spring Craig Stanley Taylor Stein Lewis Sussman Jim Taylor

Pham tiep
Thomas Vickroy
Eric Wachsman
Kim Walsh-Childres
Bryan Weber
Brenda Williams
Judith Williams
Steven Willis
Danaya Wright
Allen Wysocki
Rick Yost
Naomi Young
Barbara Zsembik

Ex Officio:

Teresa Dolan Janie Fouke Ken Gerhardt Carol Kem Bernie Machen William Riffee Neil Sullivan Tim Taylor Barbara Wingo