Senate Bylaw 20(B)(2)(j):

Sustainability Committee Joint Committee of the Senate and President

OPTION B

The Sustainability Committee is an advisory body to encourage application of sustainability principles in all university policies, practices and operations. The Sustainability Committee consists of nineteen members, including eight faculty members elected by the Senate from the faculty at large, seven faculty or staff appointed by the President's designee, and two student members selected by the student government. The director of the Office of Sustainability and an academic officer appointed by the provost serve as nonvoting ex officio members. The Chair is elected by the committee. Sustainability is defined as meeting the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to provide for themselves. Sustainability embraces three interdependent areas of concern: environmental preservation, economic viability, and social justice. A sustainable practice preserves rather than destroys its ecological base, ensures rather than undermines long-term economic benefits, and advances rather than retards matters of equity and diversity. The Sustainability Committee also promotes sustainability within the University and in the University's relations with the larger community and seeks to enhance the University's standing as a global leader in sustainability. It assesses the progress of the University of Florida's sustainability efforts as compared to national and international best practices and pursues their implementation when appropriate. It aids in the development of policy with the Office of Sustainability and participates in the annual evaluations of that Office, its director and academic officer.

-- Proposed by Constitution Committee, November 4, 2005; amended November 8 and November 28, 2005.