Senate Minutes January 19, 2006 3:00 -5:00 P.M.

Reitz Union Auditorium

Agenda:

Approval of December 15, 2005 minutes Reports Information Items Action Items Open Discussion from Floor of Senate Kim Tanzer, Chair

The meeting was called to order at 3:01P.M. The minutes of the December 15, 2005 meeting were approved

Chair's Report Kim Tanzer, Chair

Professor Tanzer explained the voting cards that were distributed at the sign in table to assure that only Senators vote. She also updated the Senate on Senate membership, saying that she had accepted the resignations of eight members who were unable to participate. She reported that most colleges have selected replacements. The Advisory Council of Faculty Senates met recently and discussed various issues of concern to Faculty Senates across the state of Florida. The Board of Governors is meeting in Gainesville on Jan 25 and 26. The Senate is now utilizing videoconferencing technology. The IFAS senators in offsite locations can now actively participate during the senate meetings. Professor Tanzer also reviewed the opinion from the General Counsel's office regarding electronic voting. Electronic voting is not allowed unless the participant is present in the meeting either physically or electronically. Professor Tanzer also announced that committee nominations will open on Friday, January 20, 2006. The chair elect cycle will also begin. Please direct questions to Kim Tanzer or Pierre Ramond. The Senate/Union relations FAQ will be posted on the Senate website. Professor Tanzer also announced a planning meeting for the faculty/student summit to facilitate faculty/student involvement in making the University of Florida a top institution. Professor Tanzer also updated the Senate on committee and council progress.

Provost's Report

Janie Fouke, Provost

Dr. Fouke updated the Senate on upcoming Dean searches for the colleges of Veterinary Medicine and Journalism. The Board of Governors will meet in Gainesville later this month. The computing infrastructure system will be reorganized to compensate for a loss of revenue that previously supported the computing infrastructure. Discussions regarding the computing infrastructure are beginning and Dr. Fouke will be discussing the matter with the Budget Council. Dr. Fouke displayed and reviewed a draft organizational structure for the Provost office reorganization plan. The Provost's office is also developing an emergency preparedness plan for the University.

Information Items:

Human Resources Update Kyle Cavanaugh, Vice President for Human Resources

Mr. Cavanaugh updated the Senate on several Human Resources initiatives including:

- * Implementation of domestic partner health benefits
- * PeopleSoft Centralization Project
- * RFP process for Graduate Health Insurance
- * Implementation of FICA Alternative Program
- * Initial results of the centralized contract with the Chronicle of Higher Education
- * Revamped Sexual Harassment Training for faculty and staff
- * Exploration of a dispute resolution officer. Mike Katovich will work with the Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations and Standards committee to draft a proposal in support of the DRO position for senate approval.
- * Updated staff performance evaluation module
 - 1 UF and Indirect Costs for Research Rick Yost, Senate Research Council Chair

Dr. Yost updated the Senate on the 1 UF plan and indirect costs for research. The 1UF-Research plan will make research policy and administration uniform across campus by July 2006.

Action Items:

Curriculum Changes Sheila Dickison, Chair University Curriculum Committee

Academic Calendars 2007-2008 through 2010-2011
Dr. Dickison presented the 2007-2008 through 2010-2011 academic calendars.

Joe Little moved to amend the calendar and hold spring break on the week in which the first Monday in March falls. The motion to amend the calendar did not pass.

The calendar was approved as originally presented.

BA option to existing BS Degree in Astronomy

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

The motion was approved.

FAAC – the motion was approved

Faculty Senate Chair Elect Voting Procedures- the motion was approved

Policy Council Membership Language

Article V Section 7 Part C –the motion was approved **Article V Section 3** – the motion was approved

Sustainability Committee

Joe Little moved to approve the language of "Option B: Selected".

The motion was approved.

Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations and Standards Committee

Article III Section 6- the motion was approved

Bylaw 7 – the motion was approved

Open Discussion from Floor of Senate:

Senators engaged in an open floor discussion of various issues of interest.

The meeting adjourned at 4:16 P.M.

Senator Attendees:

Lise Abrams Senator Attendees (continued)

Timothy Davis Jean Andino Samin Anghaie Julie Dodd Joe Aufmuth Laura Ellis Jerry Bartz Alison Fox Russell Bauer Elizabeth Frazier Mary Lou Behnke George Gerencser Paul Blaser Martin Gold Linda Bloom Donald Graetz David Bloomquist Jesse Gregory Frank Bova Ellis Greiner Lawrence Brock Cynthia Griffin Regina Bussing Steve Hagen Dale Campbell Curt Hannah

Margaret Carr Carrie Haskell-Luevano

Christy Carter Marc Heft Douglas Cenzer Alice Holmes Carlene Chase Mike Katovich Bill Chen William Kem Phillip Clark Kristen Kemple Richard Conley Saeed Khan Roxanne Connelly Peter Kima Winfred Cooke James Klausner Oscar Crisalle Shawn Kneipp Jerry Cutler Gail Kunkle

Jodi Lane

Senator attendees continued

William Lindberg Joseph Little Cynthia Lord Joseli Macedo Lee McDowell Lisa McElwee-White Jacqueline Miller Gloria Moore David Mulkey Carol Murphy Andy Naranjo Satya Narayan Mark Orazem Karen Parker Rebecca Pauly James Pettigrew Kathleen Price Jaquelyn Resnick Bhavani Sankar Orit Shechtman John Schueller Richard Segal James Selph Mark Sheplak Charles Smith Stephen Smith Wesley Smith Chris Snodgrass Michele Tennant Thomas Vickroy Eric Wachsman Bryan Weber Judith Williams George Wilson Ferdinand Wirth Danaya Wright

Ex Officio Attendees:

Kyle Cavanaugh Tony Dasta Janie Fouke Ken Gerhardt Win Phillips Stephen Pritz Pierre Ramond Kim Tanzer Jill Varnes

Rick Yost

Naomi Young

John Ziegart

Absent Senators:

Chunrong Ai Janaki Alavalapati Barbara Barletta Karen Biorndal David Bloom Kenneth Boote **Jesse Boyles** William Buhi Regina Bures Mary Ann Burg Richard Burt Sandra Chance Jacob Chung John Cisar Patrick Colahan Maureen Conroy Lori Dangler Harry Daniels Mark Davis Tim Flynn Joanne Foss Pete Giaccobi Abraham Goldman Frederick Hamann Peter Hansen Marc Hoit Lisa House Forrest Howard Marjorie Hoy Ary Lamme Christy Lemak Cathleen Mook Paul Mueller Max Nickerson June Nogle Yngve Ohrn Praveen Pathak Susan Percival Francis Putz Roger Reep Leah Rosenberg Rickie Rudd Alan Sawyer Anita Spring Lewis Sussman Laura Sutton Floyd Thompson Nancy Waldron

Michael Weigold

John Werning

Steven Willis

Absent Senators continued

Allan Wysocki

Anthony Yachnis

David Zacharias

Robert Zlotecki

Absent Ex-officio:

Barry Ache

Jane Adams

Larry Arrington

Kirby Barrick

Doug Barrett

Pamela Bernard

Dale Canelas

Jimmy Cheek

Abdol Chini

Robert Cousins

Joel Demski

Joseph DiPietro

Teresa Dolan

John Duff

Catherine Emihovich

Michelle Foss

Robert Frank

Joan Frosch

Stephen Humphrey

Terry Hynes

Robert Jerry

Carol Kem

Pramod Khargonekar

James Knight

Martha Kohen

Barbara Korner

John Kraft

Pradeep Kumar

Kathleen Long

Bernie Machen

Kevin Marshall

Donald McGlothlin

Mark McLellan

Winfred Phillips

Edward Poppell

William Riffee

Paul Robell

Neil Sullivan

Patricia Telles-Irvin

Craig Tisher

Timothy White

Guests:

Yumiko Hulvey, CLAS Guests continued

Tom Walsh, DSR E. Jane Luzar, AA