## UF CONSTITUTION ARTICLE V COUNCILS AND COMMITTEES

SENATE OPERATIONS COMMITTEES. Operational committees support the conduct of the business of the Faculty Senate. They assist the Senate to organize, to select its own officers, committees and councils, and to adopt rules for the conduct of its business.

The Senate Operations Committees are:

(A) Steering Committee. The Steering Committee is the executive committee of the Faculty Senate. It advises the Chair of the Faculty Senate on all matters, including issues brought to its attention from outside the Senate's or administration's formal structures. The Steering Committee shall consist of 15 persons. The Chair of the Senate, the Chair Elect of the Senate and the Past Chair of the Senate shall be members. Three at large members, who at the time of their election shall be voting members of the Senate, shall serve for staggered three-year terms with one or more persons being elected annually at the April meeting of the Senate to begin service on May 15. The chairs of the five Senate Policy Councils shall serve one-year terms. The University President and Provost are ex officio, non-voting members of the Steering Committee. The Secretary of the Senate and Senate Parliamentarian are ex officio nonvoting members. The Chair of the Senate shall be the chair of the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee shall determine the agenda for each meeting of the Senate. It shall provide for reporting to the Senate by administrative officers, by the chairperson(s) of councils and committees, and by individuals. It coordinates, reviews, and refers actions and proposals from Senate and Joint Committees and from the Administration. The Steering Committee also refers matters to the Senate Policy Councils and accepts reports and recommendations from the Senate Policy Councils and committees for Senate action. Where appropriate, the Steering Committee can direct a matter to the combined attention of two or more Senate Policy Councils. It shall select an alternate member of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates from among its members, excluding the Chair, Chair Elect, and Past Chair of the Senate.

(B) Committee on Committees. The Committee on Committees shall be composed of six members elected by the Faculty Senate from the faculty at large. The members serve staggered three-year terms. The chair is elected by the Committee. On an annual basis, the Committee shall conduct a review of all Senate committees, which will consider the selection process for members, the purpose of the committees, and attendance at committee meetings. The Committee shall have the

responsibility of recommending to the Senate the addition, reclassification, or dissolution of any Senate Committee, transformation of existing Presidential Committees into Joint Committees, or vice versa, and assignments of committees to Senate Policy Councils as Contributing or Related Committees. The Committee on Committees is also responsible for recommending any special qualifications for members of Senate Councils and Senate Committees to the Faculty Senate. Such special qualifications shall be as set forth in this Constitution and in the Senate By-law. The Committee shall report to the Senate at least twice a year.

- (C) University Constitution and Rules Committee. This committee is comprised of six members elected by the Faculty Senate from the faculty at large. The members serve staggered three-year terms. The Chair is elected by the Committee. It is charged with the review of the provisions of the University Constitution and with making recommendations in connection therewith to the Faculty Senate. Changes to the Constitution which are proposed to the Senate shall be referred to the Constitution Committee for consideration and recommendation to the Senate. The Constitution Committee acts as an agent of the Senate to interpret the meaning of any provision in the Constitution. It edits and prepares for publication revised editions of the Constitution. It advises the Faculty Senate on rule changes and rule administration.
- (D) Senate Nominating Committee. Four faculty members elected by the Faculty Senate from the faculty at large for staggered three-year terms shall serve with three presidential appointees as a nominating committee for the elected members of all Senate Policy Councils and Committees and Joint Committees, and the Committee shall be available to the President for recommendations for Presidential Committees. The Chair is elected by the Committee. In discharging its duties this committee shall consider diverse representation by faculty drawn from the entire University at all appropriate ranks; the selection of highly qualified faculty members where specific expertise is required; and the development of a fully engaged faculty, dedicated to service as a crucial third component of its teaching, research and service mission.