Senate Minutes December 15, 2005 3:00 -5:00 P.M.

Reitz Union Auditorium

Agenda:

Approval of November 17, 2005 minutes Reports Information Items Open Discussion from Floor of Senate

Kim Tanzer, Chair

The meeting was called to order at 3:01 P.M. The minutes of the November 17, 2005 meeting were approved

Chair's Report

Kim Tanzer, Chair

Professor Tanzer updated the senate on Policy Council issues of interest. The Budget Council is looking into merit pay plans. Each unit should have accessible merit pay plans available. The Academic Policy Council is looking into revisiting the minus grades issue and is revisiting the student honor code to verify that adequate faculty input was included in the changes. Contact Joan Frosch if you would like to be involved. The Welfare Council is looking at tenure practices by college and Kyle Cavanaugh's office is engaging in discussions and exploration of the potential interests in creating a Dispute Resolutions Office to handle grievances. The Infrastructure Council is looking into the possibility of some proceeds of the Library Starbucks going to the library. They are also looking into transportation issues.

Sandra Chance and Barbara Wingo are researching the legality of establishing an electronic voting policy before a committee to research the subject is created.

Call for nominations for committees will begin on January 20th. (The Friday following the January 19th Senate meeting.) Self nominations are encouraged. Please have the approval of the intended nominee before nominating a colleague. Also, verify the nominee meets any established criteria for committee membership.

The first 2006 Spring Faculty Development Series will take place on January 11. The subjects are: the importance and benefits of diversity, "Women in Leadership and Administration," and "Empowering First Generation College Students." All sessions will be held in room 282 of the J. Wayne Reitz Union.

Professor Tanzer reported that she is working with Joe Goldberg, Student Government President, and Jess Johnson, Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs, to create a Faculty/Student summit in the spring.

Professor Tanzer presented the grade distribution chart, faculty productivity data, and tuition data.

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

Dr. Machen reported that he met with the Board of Trustees and state representatives to review budget priorities for the upcoming year. The priorities are to: have

a statute written that would allow the University set in and out of state tuition for graduate and professional programs; increase the amount available for state buildings; have state funded salary increases for faculty and staff; full implementation of the physician upper limit payment program; continue the state matching donations and matching building funds program; acquire funds to provide health insurance for graduate students and post doctorial students on appointments.

Dr. Machen also discussed the Florida opportunities scholarship fund which will assist families who need tuition assistance but do not qualify for federal financial aid.

Information Items:

Curriculum Changes Sheila Dickison, Chair University Curriculum Committee

- Academic Calendars 2007-2008 through 2010-2011
 Dr. Dickison presented the 2007-2008 through 2010-2011 academic calendars.
- BA option to existing BS Degree in Astronomy
 College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
 Dr. Dickison presented information about the BA in Astronomy.

Constitution Changes

Chris Snodgrass, Chair Constitution Committee

FAAC- Dr. Snodgrass presented the language to eliminate the Faculty Academic Advisory Council.

Faculty Senate Chair Elect Voting Procedures

A majority of those Senators voting shall be necessary for election.

The nominee having the greatest number of votes shall be the Chair Elect if such number represents a majority of the Senators voting. If no nominee receives a majority of votes, the Senate shall choose the Chair Elect by means of run-off ballots among nominees with the two highest numbers of votes, until one nominee receives a majority.

Steering Committee Membership Language- pulled due to new information regarding the proposed change.

Policy Council Membership Language

Article V Section 7 Part C

The President shall appoint non-voting ex officio members to provide special expertise on **Senate Policy Councils and on** Senate and Joint Committees when necessary.

Article V Section 3

Dr. Snodgrass presented additional language to clarify the roles of policy councils.

William Kem

Open Discussion from Floor of Senate:

Senators engaged in an open floor discussion of various issues of interest.

The meeting adjourned at 4:03 P.M.

Senator Attendees: Iean Andino Samin Anghaie Joe Aufuth Jerry Bartz MaryLou Behnke Karen Bjorndal Paul Blazer David Bloom Linda Bloom David Bloomquist Kenneth Boote William Buhi Regina Bures Regina Bussing Margaret Carr Christy Carter Bill Chen Jacob Chung John Cisar Phillip Clark Roxanne Connelly Maureen Conroy Oscar Crisalle Jerry Cutler Lori Dangler Mark Davis Laura Ellis Alison Fox Elizabeth Frazier Donald Graetz Jesse Gregory Ellis Greiner Cynthia Griffin Frederick Hamann Curt Hannah Peter Hansen

Carrie Haskell-Luevano

Marc Hoit

Lisa House Mike Katovich

Alice Holmes

Kristen Kemple Saeed Khan Peter Kima James Klausner Shawn Kneipp Gail Kunkle Jodi Lane Christy Lemak William Lindberg Lee McDowell Cathleen Mook David Mulkey Carol Murphy Andy Naranjo Max Nickerson June Nogle Mark Orazem Rebecca Pauly Susan Percival Roger Reep Jaquelyn Resnick Leah Rosenberg Richard Segal James Selph Stephen Smith Wesley Smith Chris Snodgrass Michelle Tennant Floyd Thompson Thomas Vickroy Eric Wachsman Nancy Waldron Bryan Weber Michael Weigold John Werning Steven Willis George Wilson Allen Wysocki Rick Yost Naomi Young David Zacharias

John Ziegart Robert Zlotecki

Ex Officio Attendees:

Michelle Foss Janie Fouke Ken Gerhardt Carol Kem

Pramod Khargonekar

Bernie Machen Scott Nygren Stephen Pritz William Riffee Kim Tanzer Jill Varnes

Absent Senators:

Lise Abrams Chunrong Ai Janaki Alavalapati Swapna Banerjee Barbara Barletta Russell Bauer Frank Bova Jesse Boyles Mary Ann Burg Dale Campbell Douglas Cenzer Sandra Chance Carlene Chase Winfred Cooke Patrick Colahan Richard Conley Harry Daniels Timothy Davis Julie Dodd Calogero Dolce Tim Flynn Richard Foltz Joanne Foss George Gerencser Pete Giaccobi Abraham Goldman Steve Hagen Marc Heft Forrest Howard

Marjorie Hov

Charles Kibert

Pradeep Kumar

Ary Lamme

Richard Kershner

Joseph Little Cynthia Lord Ioseli Macedo Lisa McElwee White Jaqueline Miller Gloria Moore Paul Mueller Scott Myers Sataya Narayan Yngve Ohrn Karen Parker Praveen Pathak Leigh Patterson James Pettigrew Kathleen Price Francis Putz Rickie Rudd Bhavani Sankar Alan Sawyer Orit Shechtman John Schueller Mark Sheplak Charles Smith Anita Spring Lewis Sussman Larua Sutton Edward Valenstein Ferdinand Writh Danaya Wright

Absent Ex-officio:

Anthony Yachnis

Barry Ache Jane Adams Larry Arrington Kirby Barrick Doug Barrett Pamela Bernard Dale Canelas Kyle Cavanaugh Jimmy Cheek Abdol Chini Robert Cousins Tony Dasta Joel Demski Joseph DiPietro Teresa Dolan John Duff

Catherine Emihovich

Robert Frank

Stephen Humphrey

Terry Hynes

Robert Jerry James Knight Martha Kohen Barbara Korner John Kraft Kathleen Long Kevin Marshall Donald McGlothlin Mark McLellan Jack Mecholsky Winfred Phillips Edward Poppell Pierre Ramond Paul Robell Neil Sullivan Patricia Telles-Irvins Craig Tisher Timothy White

Guests:

Yumiko Hulvey, CLAS Steve Gottesmann, AST