## Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations and Standards Committee Minutes December 9, 2005 9:00 A.M. -12:00 P.M. 287 Reitz Union

## Attendees:

Barbara Wingo Gary Cornwell Henry Baker Ken Anusavice Elizabeth Bolton Marc Heft Doug Cenzer Eric Triplett Curt Hannah Pradeep Kumar Sharon Rush Winston Nagen Rich Segal Tony Ladd

Curt Hannah called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M.

The minutes of the last meeting were approved.

Curt Hannah announced that the committee will elect the chair-elect during the January meeting.

In the spirit of complying with the mission and purpose of the AFTPRS Committee, the issue of compliance with the UF promotion and tenure rules was raised by the chair. The issue is relevant to this committee because our charge contains faculty well-being as a mission. It was noted that the AFTPRS Committee hears promotion and tenure grievances and if all colleges are in compliance with the University rules and regulations, then that element of potential grievances would be reduced if not eliminated. For example, peer review could be an issue if the P&T Committee were composed of members who are not full professors. Other areas may also emerge when examined. Some colleges have different systems for tenure and promotion committees than set forth in the University regulations. Curt Hannah will make Kim Tanzer and the Welfare council aware of the situation.

The committee agreed that if there are any exceptions to the regulations for certain colleges those exceptions should be stated in the regulations. Curt will create a document

that contains all college procedures for tenure and promotion and the University regulations.

Barbara Wingo described the current grievance and complaint procedures.

Faculty members involved in the collective bargaining unit can either go through the three tier process or the 120 Administrative Hearing.

Faculty members not involved in the collective bargaining unit can go to the AFTPRSC Committee, go through the University Grievance Process or the 120 administrative Hearing.

Complaints have no time limit and may be made regarding the following issues: discrimination, sexual harassment, research misconduct, financial misconduct or general complaints against faculty members.

The committee discussed the proposed year-long time frame for filing grievances.

Eric Triplett moved to have a year long time period for filing non-termination grievances. The motion did not pass.

A motion was made to allow 180 days to file a grievance for non-termination grievances. The motion passed.

Winston Nagan moved to approve 90 days to file a termination grievance. The motion passed.

Curt Hannah moved that the constitution language be changed so that when the President gets a grievance the committee receives the grievance if it was intended to go to the committee regardless of the President's decision on timeliness. The motion passed. The committee will work on language to express this notion.

A filed grievance was discussed. The grievance was not sent to the committee by Associate Provost Joe Glover because of timeliness. Salary discrimination was claimed. Joe Glover told Chair Curt Hannah that the issue originated long before the 30 day grievance filing period. Questions of jurisdiction were also raised.

It was agreed that we do not have the authority to grant a hearing for this grievance at this time.

Chair Hannah will ask Joe Glover about how he defined timeliness here. Chair Hannah will also discuss the issue with Jimmy Cheek and Kim Tanzer.

Meeting adjourned at 11:50am.