University of Florida Constitution Committee Meeting August 27, 2007 Minutes

Attendees: Mary Ann Ferguson (Chair) Joe Little Victoria Pagan Barbara Wingo Cathy Martyniak Tim Taylor

Absent: Angel Kwolek-Folland Cynthia Griffin

Meeting Minutes:

Attendees introduced themselves. Senate secretary Amelia Bell will not be able to attend our meetings in the Fall. Cathy Martyniak volunteered to take minutes for this meeting. Angel and Cynthia sent notes saying they would not be able to attend. Mary Ann Ferguson also said that at the September meeting a Vice Chair/Chair elect should be selected. Ferguson will be on Sabbatical in the Spring and possibly the Vice Chair/Chair elect could serve as interim during that time. Ferguson said she attended a new Committee Chair orientation and she will strive to start the meetings on time and end them on time. We will use Roberts Rules of Order when needed.

March minutes were approved. Barbara Wingo asked for details re: some of the changes the Committee approved to the Bylaws at the March meeting. (Amelia has the changes and will be asked to send them to Barbara.) April minutes must be located and then can be approved at the September meeting

In order to aid in wordsmithing, a laptop computer and a MS Word version of the two documents will be made available at each meeting, along with the projector and screen already located in the meeting room.

Mary Ann asked Cathy Martyniak to go over the Committee's Operating procedures document as a refresher for past members and an orientation for Victoria Pagan. When exactly to bring "housekeeping" Constitution and By Law changes before the full Senate and the mechanism for alerting Senators to important regulation changes (Red, yellow and green lights) were discussed at length. Barbara suggested we do one major rewrite and report it to the Senate at the March meeting as an information item and in April as an action item.

An April 26th email from the Committee on Committees (attached) with three directives to the Constitution Committee was reviewed. The requested changes were made to the bylaws and the constitution (suggested changes attached).

The meeting adjourned at 11 a.m. Minutes taken by Cathy Martyniak April 26, 2007

TO: Tim Taylor, Chair, Constitution Committee FROM: John Leavey, Chair, Committee on Committees RE: Committee Structures

The Faculty Senate approved the following changes to committee structure at the April 19, 2007, Senate meeting. Please make appropriate changes to the Constitution and Bylaws so that the language may be presented to the Senate as an information item in September 2007.

- 1. There should be 1 student member on each Policy Council (Academic Policy, Faculty Welfare, Budget, Research and Scholarship, and Academic Infrastructure). The students will be non-voting members.
- 2. The University Curriculum Committee Joint Committee
 12 members elected in staggered terms of 3 years each
 11 appointed
 3 non-voting student members
 Chair is to be elected
- 3. The General Education Committee Joint Committee
 9 members elected in staggered terms of 3 years each
 7 appointed
 2 non-voting student members. Chair is to be elected.

Constitutional stipulations to be followed (i.e., remain the same) in voting and/or appointment for the General Education Committee: The General Education Committee "shall be composed of representatives from the majority of baccalaureate degree-granting colleges within the University" (Article VI, Section 4).

Constitution Changes:

Article V COUNCILS AND COMMITTEES

Section 3

(C) Membership of Councils: Voting members of each council shall consist of six (6) members elected by the Senate from the Senate membership and the chairperson of each contributing committee. If the chairperson of a contributing committee is not an elected faculty member, then a faculty member will be elected to serve on the council by the faculty members of the Committee. The chairs of related committees to a council shall serve as non-voting members of those councils with the right to propose inquiries and other actions. Student government shall select one nonvoting student member annually to serve for a one-year term.

Bylaw Changes:

SENATE BYLAW 20 University Committees (Senate Bylaw 20, April 11, 2002, 1/2006, 4/2006)

(B) 2.

- b. Curriculum Committee. The President shall appoint 20 11 members to this committee, and the Senate will elect three 12 members from the faculty at large. Student government shall select three non-voting student members annually to serve for a one-year term. The Chair is appointed by the President or the President's designee elected by the Committee. This Committee shall consider all requests for changes in undergraduate curricula or catalog listings, and for the addition of new courses of instruction in any of the colleges, divisions and schools of the University, except the Graduate School. When the question under consideration pertains to a course or courses at the "5000" level, available for graduate major credit, the Committee shall act jointly with the Graduate School. The Committee shall endeavor to eliminate duplication of subject matter between courses and unnecessary proliferation of courses. Ordinarily, the Committee's decisions on proposals to add courses to the curriculum or to delete courses from the curriculum shall be final, but the department which would offer the course, or has been offering it, may appeal the Committee's decision to the Senate. Such an appeal would be addressed to the Curriculum Committee, which might either reverse its earlier decision or ask the Steering Committee to schedule Senate consideration of the appeal. The Committee's decision on proposals to add, delete, or make changes in programs of instruction leading to undergraduate degrees shall not be a final decision, but shall be submitted to the Senate for final action.
- c. General Education Committee. The President shall appoint 13 seven members to this committee from the majority of baccalaureate degreegranting colleges within the University, and the Senate will elect three members from the faculty at large, and the Senate will elect three nine members from the faculty at large. The Chair is appointed by the President or the President's designee elected by the Committee. Student government shall select two non-voting student members annually to serve for a oneyear term. The voting membership shall be composed of representatives from the majority of baccalaureate degree-granting colleges within the University. The General Education Committee establishes a philosophy of what constitutes the general education component for baccalaureate

degrees offered by the University. It reviews, in accordance with established criteria, all courses proposed to fulfill general education and Gordon Rule requirements. It makes recommendations to the Curriculum Committee regarding the continued effectiveness of the general education program.