# **University Constitution Committee Minutes**

Thursday October 12, 2006 3:00-5:00 PM 354 Tigert Hall

#### **Attendees:**

Joe Little Cathy Martyniak Tim Taylor Mary Ann Ferguson Blake Landor Barbara Wingo

### Absent:

Joe Glover Cynthia Griffin

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 PM

The minutes from the August meeting were approved.

# **Honorary Degrees ...Committee**

Based on information from the Steering Committee, further action on drafting language for the Honorary Degrees... Committee will be postponed until the Committee receives further instructions. Barbara Wingo discussed the possibility of the Honorary Degrees... Committee meeting outside of the Florida Sunshine Law. In her opinion there is no effective way for this to occur unless the committee merely engaged in fact-finding..

## **Inconsistencies between the University Constitution and Senate By-laws**

After a discussion about the definition of *rules* and *regulations*, Joe Little made a motion to defer action and request Barbara Wingo to further examine the legal implications of changes in the terms *rules* and *regulations*. The motion was seconded by Mary Ann Ferguson and passed.

Other proposed changes are of a cosmetic nature and will be made by Tim Taylor, Barbara Wingo and Amelia Hugus, and presented to the Committee at the November meeting

## **Structure of the Constitution Committee**

A motion was made by Joe Little to create the positions of Chair-elect and Past-Chair on the Constitution Committee. The Chair-elect will be chosen from first-year committee members. This structure will allow some degree of institution memory on the committee. The motion was seconded by Blake Landor and passed.

## **New Business:**

Tim Taylor was approached by a faculty senator who noted the change proposed to Senate By-law 2 E (e) and the replacement procedure implicitly refers back to Procedures for Elections in Senate By-law 4 E 2(a,b,c) which only includes only *full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty. Non-tenure track faculty with or without permanent status* are not included in nominating committees for academic department and units. After some discussion, the Committee agreed that it was not within our authority to amend the existing language. A motion was made by Joe Little that when presenting the relevant pending action in the meeting of October 21, 2006, the Chairman inform the faculty senate that an inquiry had been made about the language in By-law 4 E 2(a,b,c). The motion was seconded by Cathy Martyniak and passed.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 PM